My Five Favourite Christmas Cards of 2012

Hello Everyone – Hope you all had a brilliant Christmas and you received lots of lovely crafty parcels from the big man in red.  We had a White Christmas this year and now have about 8″ of snow on the ground, most came down on Boxing Day so we had a lovely long walk in the local woods, but we’ve had an inch here and there most days since then.  It’s snowing gently as I type this up.

I decided to take a little bloggy break for a few days to concentrate on enjoying our Christmas and getting all of the things finished that we needed to do.  I had to go into work on the 27th and then yesterday I was at the dentists office to have an impacted wisdom tooth removed!  Not everyone’s idea of fun, but as I’m off work for a few days I thought it best to get it out of the way instead of having to take more time off in the New Year.  The left side of my face is a little red but I haven’t had any swelling or bruising and it’s not particularly painful, more sore than anything else.  I’m being careful and only eating soft foods and not having any drinks that are too hot or too cold, I still have a little numbness on the left side of my mouth but I don’t feel anywhere near as bad as I thought I would.  Still, it’s been a good excuse to take it easy and get on with some knitting and to also cosy up on the sofa and watch some dvd’s we got for Christmas.

I haven’t made any new cards but I wanted to show you my Top 5 Christmas Cards this year.  Debby at A Scrap Journey has done this for the last few years and I’ve always managed to join in, I didn’t want to miss the opportunity this year either so here goes.  There’s a Mr Linky over at Debby’s where you can add your name and she has a lovely prize on offer for a lucky, random participant.

My first choice is Milton With Poinsettia.  I loved everything about this card, from the sweet image to the funky blue poinsettia, I also really loved the little snowflake banner too.  The original post is here.

My absolute favourtire colour is green so when St Patrick’s Day rolled around a couple of the challenges wanted to see a predominantly green card and I managed to work that into a Christmas card!  That and I thought that if the fairy is that drunk to have fallen off the top of the tree then she’s probably Irish anyway!!  The original post is here.

I didn’t have my good camera when I made this one so the photo of it isn’t as nice as it was IRL.  I love this little PB image, it’s one of my favourites for Christmas, so sweet, easy to colour and it looks great in lots of different colours.  Love the pretty paper and the seem binding bow too.  The original post is here.

I still love CAS cards and I still love traditional colours for Christmas.  This was a little set I came up with back in August using a couple of lovely photos on two challenge blogs for inspiration and a mix of Penny Black and Inkadinkado stamps.  The original post is here.

This is my last choice, a House Mouse card, actually a gift bag type of card, there’s more photos on the original post if you want to see more detail.  I got this lovely stamp earlier in the year and used it for the first time here.  I didn’t make many Christmas cards with House Mouse this year, I went back to my Penny Blacks for the most part, but I’ll always love these cute little mice and all the antics they get up to!

I hope you’ve enjoyed my little selection of cards, you still have a day or two to join in with Debby and to see all the beautiful cards people are showing too.

7 thoughts on “My Five Favourite Christmas Cards of 2012

  1. What a fab set of Christmas cards. I think my favourite has to be the little PB mouse – he’s sooo cute!
    I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog this year (I’m very naughty though as I don’t always comment – sorry). Looking forward to reading what you get up to in 2013.
    Have a very Happy and Healthy New Year and i hope 2013 brings you everything you wish for. Crafty hugs, Linda xx

  2. FAB top 5 here Brenda.

    You had a WHITE CHRISTMAS? So jealous! Over here it’s been nothing but rain, rain, and er, more RAIN!

    Glad you’re not feeling as bad as you anticipated after the trip to the dentist. Take it easy.

    Wishing you and Andrew a very Happy New Year xxx

  3. Fabulous cards there Brenda! Of course the PB Mouse one is my fave – plus it’s pink, yay!!

    So glad to hear the wisdom tooth wasn’t as bad as you feared – hope the tooth fairy left you double the going rate! :)

    Like Sarn, I wish you and Andrew a very Happy New Year – and thank you again for your lovely Christmas card!

    Hugs, see you in the Playground, Di xx

  4. I don’t know how you were able to whiddle down your card favorites to only five! I would think that would be a hard choice; they are gorgeous!

    I’m glad to hear that your surgery is over and that the aftermath has been easier than you imagined! I’m truly sorry that I made you laugh out loud. I should have remembered your situation and kept my goofiness down to the snigger level. I promise I’m not going to be make you LOL in my comment. I want you healing nicely and swiftly.

    Sending you and Andrew all best wishes for a happy and healthy new year!! Darnell

  5. No wonder they are your favorites – they are all absolutely grand!!!! Now what are you and your husband cooking up for New Year’s Day dinner?? I can’t wait to see – drool, drool!
    Happy New Year!
    Sandy

  6. gorgeous cards Brenda – love them all… my favourite is the one with the pine branches on – the CAS card… I loved it when you posted it – and for me, it really stands out.

    Happy New Year (I know I’m late – and probably out of sync with catching up – but here at last eh?)

    Paula x x x

Leave a Reply

