House Mouse Baking With Love

How are you all this fine weekend?  We had a busy morning and managed to get all of our decorations down and the tree put outside, plus the entire downstairs got a wash and brush up (yes the dreaded “h” word ladies!), and hubby even managed to touch up the paintwork in one or two places that needed it!!  So after lunch I hung the Do Not Disturb sign on the craft room door and spent a happy hour or three with my treasured House Mouse stamps.

I was lucky enough to receive a 72 set of Prismacolor Pencils for Christmas and I really wanted to give them a go, so armed with some Odorless Mineral Spirits and some blending stumps and had a play.  I’d watched some videos on You Tube during my lunch break yesterday and quickly realised I’d picked the wrong sort of image to do much blending with, as it’s a bit fiddly, but this is the one I wanted to use so I just blended where I could with the OMS and used my Prisma Colourless Blending Pencils on the smaller sections.  Overall I’m happy, I at least ended up with a usable image, let’s face it, it all could have ended up in the bin!  This is something I’m going to have to practice with, but I expected that anyway, every new technique takes practice.

So, on to the card:

The stamp is called Decorating Cookies.  I haven’t yet found a good colour for the mice faces, paws and tail so that looks a bit pale on this card.  The rest I’m quite happy with for a first attempt, I put glossy accents on the “icing” but refrained from glittering it up at all!  The red and green papers are DCWV out of the scrap box, and the text is some new MME that I got way before Christmas and then never used!  The corner die cut is from Memory Box and it was pre-cut in the bit box too from some glitter paper.  The centre strip is a new punch, MS Icicles, that I got for Christmas and after punching I dabbed some DI Iced Spruce on it and then covered it with MS Fine Glitter.  The sentiment is PB.

Here’s a close up of the colouring and the glittered border.  The LO is based from a sketch from Christmas Challenges {With Sketches} where you can pick any of their previous sketches to work with.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ The Paper Company Kraft and red scraps
  • DP: DCWV & MME
  • Stamps: Stampabilities Decorating Cookies ~ Penny Black The Wonder Clear Set
  • Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black & Aloe Vera ~ Memories Black Dye ~ Distress Ink Iced Spruce
  • Embellies: MS Fine Glitter ~ Glossy Accents
  • Tools: Fiskars Corner Rounder ~ MS Icicle Border punch ~ Memory Box Frostyville Corner Die

**********************************************

Challenges:

House Mouse & Friends Monday Challenge ~ Hugs & Kisses (my meeces are baking lots of hugs and kisses into their cookies!!)

Christmas Challenges {With Sketches} – Pick A Favourite Sketch

Cute Card Thursday ~ Something New (Prisma pencils and Icicle punch)

Joanna Sheen ~ With Love At Christmas

Crafty Hazelnut’s Christmas Challenge ~ Santa Is Not Allowed

Crafty Hazelnut’s Christmas Extra Challenge ~ Anything Christmas Goes

Pixies Craft Workshop Challenge ~ Use Up Your Scraps (It’s all from the scrap box with the exception of the card black and the text paper)

Simon Says Stamp ~ Something New (Prisma Pencils and the MS Icicle Punch)

Jingle Belles ~ Look What Santa Brought Me (Prisma Pencils and the MS Icicle Punch)

21 thoughts on “House Mouse Baking With Love

  1. What a bright fun card. Those little guys are really decorating those cookies up beautifully. Great coloring of this stamp, lucky lady, getting your penciils for Christmas. Thanks for joining us at the House Mouse and Friends Monday Challenge.

  2. great choice of image and lovely colouring with your new pencils, lucky you, thanks for joining us at the House Mouse and Friends Challenge
    Hoping you had a great Xmas and wishing you a fabulous New Year
    Kate xx

  3. Gorgeous card with beautiful colouring. Nice to be able to play with new gifts. I must get a door on my room so I can hang a ‘do not disturb’ sign up x

  4. Stunning Brenda! Love the image and overall card – and your colouring is fabulous – you really rocked with those new pencils! Hugs, Di xx

  5. Gorgeous card Brenda :-) I love the image ,, so vey cute and the colours are fab :-)
    I have the pencils too and find it easier to blend them with a paint brush :-)

    thanks for joining us on the House Mouse and Friends Challenge :-)
    luv
    Lols x x x

  6. Brenda

    Thats a great image and colouring for your first effort with your new pencils. Actually, I am after some of these too – so will be in the same boat soon – although I tried with some Derwent Artist collection pencils – probably not the best collection to use for this technique – but lacking in OMS, I used baby oil! lol… it was OK but I know it can be so much better too – with the right pencils. You will pick this up in no time. I think pencils sometimes give a better colour finish than alcohol pens – just because you can put pressure on and be light too – and you can tell with pencils, its hard to achieve that with alcohol pens, however good you are – that’s why you need many colours because it’s having al those different shades and tones that make them look dimensional. I think I may take myself off to some YouTube videos too in good time.

    Paula x x x

  7. what an ♥AMAZING♥ job you did coloring that super-cute image, i think you are already quite a prismacolor expert! absolutely love the touches of texture and gloss you’ve used, as well! thanks for sharing your cool goodies and fab card with us at JINGLE BELLES! ♥

Leave a Reply

