Traveling Zoo Animals

Heh, heh, heh, bet that got your attention!  I combined a couple of challenges from different blogs and came up with that title; Winter Wonderland want to see Travel as their theme this week and ABC Christmas is at the very end of the alphabet and want to see Zoo Animals.  So there you have it, traveling zoo animals.

I’m still practicing with my new Prisma pencils, I spent Sunday afternoon colouring at the kitchen work top and I’ve got two more images I’m happy with and this one that’s OK but not the best in my opinion.  Still usable certainly but I struggled with the large one colour car, couldn’t seem to get much depth on it.  I also switched to mineral oil from OMS for this image and found it much easier to use than the OMS so I’ll be sticking with that for now.

I kept the LO quite simple, sometimes it’s hard to place these big images.  The paper is new for Christmas, it’s Stampin Up Be of Good Cheer set and I used some dark green card as a mat.  A Wild Rose Studio sentiment, some glitter on the snow on the side of the road, some Liquid Pearls for falling snow and a little bit of bakers twine is all I added.

I did the sky with a water colour wash using Distress Inks, it was too large an area to use Prisma’s on, but I think I over did it though!  Looks a bit like they’re driving through a winter storm and the little baby bear in the back seat is wondering if they’ll ever arrive in time to deliver the presents!!

Card Recipe:

Card: The Paper Company

  • DP: Stampin Up Be of Good Cheer
  • Stamps: Stampabilities Beary Big Delivery ~ Wild Rose Studio sentiment
  • Ink: Memento Midnight Black ~ Brilliance Cottage Ivy Green ~ Distress Ink Iced Spruce, Stormy Sky & Broken China
  • Embellies: MS Coarse Glitter ~ Perfect Pearls ~ Bakers Twine ~ Prismacolor Pencils
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Nesties Plain and Scalloped Circles

************************************************

Challenges:

Winter Wonderland ~ Travel

ABC Christmas ~ Zoo Animals

House Mouse & Friends ~ Christmas Hugs and Kisses

Joanna Sheen Challenge ~ With Love At Christmas

Crafty Hazelnut’s Christmas Challenge ~ Anything But Santa

Crafty Hazelnut’s Extra Christmas Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Simon Says Stamp Challenge ~ New Something (Paper & Prisma Pencils)

Stamping For The Weekend ~ Anything Goes

Cute Card Thursday ~ Something New (Paper and Pencils)

Jingle Belles ~ Look What Santa Brought Me (New Paper and Pencils)

21 thoughts on “Traveling Zoo Animals

  1. Very very cute. As I am putting away my Christmas things you are starting new Christmas cards. Now this is what i should be doing but it’s hard enough getting up this morning to send small off to school, yawwwwn x

  2. what a gorgeous creation and perfect for our theme of Travel this week at the Winter Wonderland, and a super image choice for our challenge at the House Mouse and Friends, thank you for joining us
    Hugs Kate xx

  3. nice image Brenda – and great colouring – already seeing a difference – and more confidence too. As I just commented in your previous post – I used baby oil for blending – and it did the job – which surprised me. I’m not sure whether it was meant to work or not – but I enjoyed the technique much better. And you can add depth with the pencils through pressure… you can’t really achieve that with alcohol pens – well not just using one anyway.

    Just keep playing and practicing – but these are fine already!

    Paula x x x

  4. Coo Brenda – these are fabulous! I like the stormy sky and the colouring is beeeeautiful.Have no idea what OMS is – or perhaps it’s odourless mineral spirit at a wild guess? Please keep showing, no doubt you intend to, it’s great to see the results. Hugs, Di xx

  5. Weeeeeeeeeeee they look like they are having a great time! maybe they are on a zoo exchange and they are travelling to another zoo! tehhehe :)
    Fab card, cute image too! thanks for playing along at ABC Christmas challenge this time
    hugs Samantha :0)

  6. You’ve made me think that I ought to get my prismas out again – you’ve used them so well – super card – thanks for entering both of my CHNC challenges – hope to see you again soon. x

  7. i have to say again: you are ROCKING the prismas and the blending, it certainly does not look to me like you need more practice, but on the other hand, i don’t want to discourage you from making EVEN MORE fabulous cards, b/c i looooooooooooooooooove to see them!!! (ps: the pearl “snow” is my favorite FAVORITE part!!!) ♥

  8. Aww these guys sure look like there in a hurry before the storm..lol lovely colouring, love the stormy sky perfect..

    Thanks for sharing with us at HM & friends chall. this time good luck..

    smiles Christine x

  9. Hi Brenda, I thought maybe you could advise me on a sort of knitting/wool question. I got my DIL a beautiful alpaca scarf for Christmas from the store at National Geographic and it is gorgeous and soft as anything to the touch. Problem is, when you put it around your neck, it’s like a thousand nettles! I’ve asked Mr. Google and he suggested handwashing it in conditioner. It smells nice, but still itchy as, er, heck. Then I tried putting it in the dryer with three dryer sheets on air fluff only, no heat. That was my own idea and apparently a dumb one, because it made no difference. I can probably return it, but I thought I’d try you first b/c the thing really is gorgeous. I realize it is “woven,” not hand-knit, per se, but I still thought I would ask if you can you help me with any ideas?

    If you’re curious, you can see it at http://shop.nationalgeographic.com/ngs/product/clothing/accessories/scarves-and-shawls/bolivian-alpaca-sunset-scarf. Not sure that link will work. If not, it’s at nationalgeographic.com and then search on “alpaca scarf.”

    Thanks so much! Darnell (You can email me at darnell dot knauss at gmail dot com.)

Leave a Reply

