January Blues

More like January greys and browns round here as all our lovely snow has melted!  We had a big warm up last week and quite a bit of rain too, so it’s all looking decidedly grim at the moment.

Not to worry, I have another Christmas card for you!  PBSC want to see a card that’s predominantly blue and I’ve always fancied having a go at a Kath style card and build a little scene, so I came up with this.  I coloured the image a week ago and then had the rest of it floating around in my head for a few days before I decided to try and get it down on paper.

Overall I’m quite happy how it came out, I think my scene could have been a bit bigger, didn’t quite realise how big Snowy was until I cut him out and held him up!  The light is catching all the glitter and really making it sparkle.

So, where to start.  The scene was made by cutting out two pieces of white paper from the snippets drawer with my special trimmer, it has two cuts to chose from, one looks like waves and the other is this more gentle curve that I’ve used here.  I cut out two pieces and edged them with DI Faded Jeans.  The blue was also from the snippets drawer and was also edged with the Faded Jeans ink.  I stamped PB Fantasy in the left corner with Memento Night Sky and then added some snowflakes in ColorBox Queue White ink and a snowflake from the PB clear set Winter Whites & Greens.  The I added my sentiment from Fiskars in Versamagic Red Magic and stuck everything to my base card.  The edges were glittered with MS Coarse Glitter, the tree was adorned with Stickles Frosted White and the snowflakes got a dab of Liquid Pearls in their centres.

Snowy was coloured with Prisma pencils, cut out and popped up on foam dots and he has a little of the Frosted White Stickles around his base but it’s not showing up much.  I really liked this technique but I think I need to pay attention to proportion next time!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Black from Michaels cut down a bit ~ Blue and White card from The Paper Studio ~ Gina K Pure Luxury White cardstock for the image
  • Stamps: Penny Black Snowy, Fantasy & Winter Greens and Whites ~ Fiskars Season’s Greetings set
  • Ink: Memento Midnight Black & Night Sky ~ Distress Ink Faded Jeans ~ Versamagic Red Magic
  • Embellies: Martha Stewart Coarse Glitter ~ Stickles Frosted White ~ Liquid Pearls ~ Prisma Pencils for colouring

****************************************************

Challenges:

PBSC ~ January Blues

Sparkles ~ Snowmen

Christmas Cards All Year Round ~ Anything Goes

Crafty Hazelnut’s Christmas Challenge ~ Rudolph Is Resting

Crafty Hazelnut’s Extra Christmas Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Pixies Crafty Workshop ~ Use Up Your Scraps

Cute Card Thursday ~ Beat The Blues

Sweet Stamping Christmas ~ Cold & Frosty

Fab ‘n’ Funky ~ Winter

Crafty Sentiments ~ Sparkle & Glitter

Crafty Calendar Challenge ~ What’s New (Prisma pencils were new for Christmas)

19 thoughts on “January Blues

  1. Hi Brenda – super cute! He’s just toddled forward to peer at us all :) Fancy having a trimmer that does big waves – how very professional. Great result too.

    ‘Fraid the snow is melting in the Playground – and you know what our roads look like when that happens, very depressing.

    Hugs, Di xx

  2. Sometimes I wonder why I like you -there’s no such thing as lovely snow and Christmas cards in January goes against my principles. Must be because you make such beautiful cards and knit socks.

  3. Hi Brenda

    Loving your winter Christmas scene .. .. if the weather forecast is anything to go by this cute little snowman could be recreated in our back garden at the weekend eeekkk!!!!

    Well done on getting a head start on your Christmas makes. I usually have a break until March time LOL!!

    Hope all is good with you.

    Love Jules xx

  4. Fabulous creation!

    Thank you for joining in the fun at Sparkles Christmas for our * Snowmen * challenge

    Hope you will join us again & good luck in the draw
    Hugs Shaz x

  5. what a lovely card this is… love the way the DI ink on the edge of the snowy bit looks so right. Try to tell someone that doesn’t craft that you were going to do that – and they’d look at you as if you were nuts! What? Blue inked edges? on your snow?
    That’s another one for the box eh?

    I need you to tell me all about your pencils… how many, which collection, do you have enough, is it a good colour selection, do they blend well, with or without blending solution, if with; which one?
    Thank you in advance my love
    Paula x x x

  6. Smashing card, Brenda. I like your snowy hills and the snowman is cute. We’ve yet to see one snowflake here … I’m feeling deprived as much of the rest of the country is covered in the a layer of the white stuff. Never mind, maybe tomorrow. Elizabeth xx

  7. Oh wow this is a beautiful snowman creation and your colouring and layout is stunning……Thank you for joining in our challenge at Spakles Christmas Challenge Snowmen! good luck with the draw and hope to see you again DT Member Sandra H xx

  8. I just love everything about this one! Thanks for sharing at Christmas Cards All Year Round. Isn’t it fabulous to gather a stock of festive cards throughout the year! Good luck with the Challenge.Judy DT

Leave a Reply

