I Love You *SEW* Much!

That’s the theme at House Mouse & Friends this fortnight.  I didn’t think I’d be able to join in as I have no sewing related HM stamps and I don’t have a sewing machine either, and I truly couldn’t see me hand stitching on my card, lol!!

But I was going though my stamps thinking “what to use, what to use” when I pulled out a sewing stamp I never even knew I had!!  Brand new and uninked.  Seems I might just have to start cataloging my stamps after all then!!  I also just happened to be in JoAnns last Sunday morning and found a sewing themed stamp set from The Paper Company Studio on clearance for $2.50!  So my fate was sealed, I had to make the card!

So to begin, I searched in the snippets drawer for suitable papers.  The larger backing piece is from Provocraft and the floral piece is from MME.  It wasn’t quite big enough for want I wanted but I had another smaller offcut that I was able to use and the purple ribbon hides the join!  The image is of course Stampabilities Sew What and I coloured it with Prismacolor pencils.  It was stamped with Colorbox back dye ink on to Gina K Pure Luxury White cardstock and cut out with a Spellbinders die. I distressed it a little with DI Milled Lavender whilst it was still in the die.  The purple card underneath was embossed with a folder I bought in the UK and I don’t recall the name of it!

The sentiment and the tape measure were both from the TPC Studio set I got on clearance.  The ribbon, buttons and the gems were from my stash.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels ~ The Paper Company offcuts of pink & purple ~ Gina K Pure Luxury White cardstock, also an offcut
  • DP: Provocraft & MME both from the snippets drawer
  • Stamps: Stampabilities Sew What ~ TPC Studio Sew
  • Ink: Colorbox Wicked Black ~ Distress Ink Milled Lavender ~ Versamagic Purple Hydrangea
  • Embellies: Ribbon free with a UK card magazine ~ Buttons from The Scrapbook Store (in California, sent by my pal Mary) ~ Bakers Twine from American Crafts ~ Gems from Simon Says Stamp
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~  Spellbinders Labels 17 ~ Stitching Embossing Folder

********************************************

Challenges

HM&FMC ~ I Love You Sew Much

Sketch & Stash ~ Current LO and I’m using new stamps

Pixies Crafty Snippets Challenge ~ Use Up Your Scraps

22 thoughts on “I Love You *SEW* Much!

  1. You must catalogue your stamps, it is the best thing ever and you will be forever thanking yourself when you have. I did it a very long time ago and have never looked back and it actually helps me use the ones that i forgot about.

    Love the card, beautiful you have done a great job considering you dont sew….. and this is
    sew nice.. LOL

    Eliza

  2. Don’t you just love when that happens…..love this stamp, one of my favs and the sentiment is so fitting! Pretty papers and extras on the card too. Thanks for joining us at the House Mouse and Friends Monday Challenge.

    Hugs
    Sue

  3. gorgeous card, so love that stamp, how perfect!
    must admit to also not knowing what is in my ever growing stamp collection! The thought of having to catalogue them all is just too daunting!
    Debxx

  4. Sew sweet! Couldn’t resist!
    Sweet card with such a sweet image…love that little guy sewing up heis friend.
    Sorry I thought upir knitting wasvsocks…I didn’t pay enought attention when I was reading through!
    I love that wool…it is so rugged looking!

  5. Gorgeous card Brenda :-) oh my goodness !! fancy having this adorable stamp and forgetting you had it !!! sooo glad you found it and gave it an inking :-)
    I must admit I have done the same thing myself and now keep all new unused stuff in a box,,, :-)

    thanks for joining us on the House Mouse and Friends Challenge :-)
    Luv
    Lols x x x

  6. I’m in the same boat with the cataloging of stamps. Didn’t know I had so many (not sure if I have this one. Should have, as I have sewers in the family and this one is delightful). I love how you colored these little meecies, as I always have trouble doing them in browns. Great job with the pencils. Your tapemeasure embellie is just too perfect. Meant to be with this image! As was the button trim. Lovely card, and TFS.

  7. Hi Brenda this is such a cute versatile stamp & you Forgot..you had it..tsk tsk..lol gorgeous colours & papers great take on the chall theme .

    Thanks for sharing at HM & friends chall this wk.

    smiles Christine x

  8. Hi Brenda

    What a gorgeous card.

    I love those cute little mice and the sentiment is just perfect!

    Fabby use of your snippets.

    Hope all is good with you.

    Love Jules xx

Leave a Reply

