Uplifting Monday

Well, not really, but it is Monday and I hope I have an uplifting project for you!  It’ll give you wings anyway, lol.  House Mouse and Friends want to see Wings this fortnight so I looked through my stamps to see what I had, and came up with this aptly names “Butterfliers”!

I coloured up the image with lots of orange and yellow papers out on my desk and then completely changed my mind as I was putting the card together and went with blues and purples instead!  But I’m glad that I did.  The image was coloured with Prisma pencils and edged with DI Broken China.  I stamped and coloured the two butterflies again, cut them out, rubbed on a bit of Crystal Stickles and decoupaged them on to the main image.  The backing paper is a free Christmas digi download, the plain blue is DCWV and the purple flowered piece was free with a UK card magazine.

I had some pretty pearlescent scraps of paper and so cut out two Memory Box Fauntleroy Crests and two Martha Stewart butterflies, a bit of doodling, some purple gems and I called it done.

Card Recipe

  • Card: DCWV Bazzil type card for the blank ~ The Paper Company ~ GinaK Pure Luxury White
  • DP: Free Digi Download ~ DCWV ~ Free piece with a UK card magazine ~ DCWV Metallic Amethyst
  • Stamp: Stampabilities Butterfliers
  • Ink: Colorbox Wicked Black ~ Distress Ink Broken China
  • Embellies: Gems from Michaels ~ Crystal Stickles ~ Prismacolor Pencils ~ Tsukineko Black ink pen
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Memory Box Fauntleroy Crest Die ~ Martha Stewart Butterfly punch

**************************************************

Challenges:

House Mouse & Friends ~ Wings

Sweet Sketch Wednesday ~ Current LO

Simon Says Stamp ~ Anything Goes

My Mum’s Craft Store ~ Spring Has Sprung

Cute Card Thursday ~ Something Old (The papers are seriously old and I’ve had the stamp since last summer but never inked it before!)

Joanna Sheen ~ Layer It Up

Stamping Sensations ~ The Great Outdoors

Addicted To Stamping ~ Use stamping on your card

Pixies Crafty Snippets Challenge ~ Use Up Your Scraps (The white stamping card, the blue matting card, the purple accents and one bit of the plain blue paper are all from the scrap box)

29 thoughts on “Uplifting Monday

  1. Love the bright fun colors on this card. That little scene is so adorable and the sparkly butterflies look so nice. Thanks for joining us for the House Mouse and Friends Monday Challenge.

    Hugs
    Sue

  2. Surely this just HAS to be a winner B – it’s gorgeous!! Great colours and I adore the stamp you used – perfect!! Hugs, Di xx

  3. I LOVE this card!! Love the Mouse House stamps – I just ordered a few today =) Beautifully done!! So glad you played along with us at Sweet Sketch Wednesday!!
    Blessings to you!!
    Sally SSW-DT

  4. Gorgeous gorgeous card. I love lavandar, blue and green together. One of my all time favorites. Thansk for sharing your darling card with us.
    Nancy SSW-DT

  5. It’s hard to miss with a House Mouse motif, and you knocked one out of the ball park with this card! So pretty & whimsical. Just love it. Your colors are cool with these meecies, and the popped up butterfly kites ….too cute by half. Really liking the digi papers, and the idea to put the Fauntleroy crest swirl behind the main image…inspired! Just saw on Fox news, you may be getting some of this next big snowstorm. Stay warm & dry & get lots of crafting time if you’re stuck indoors for a spell. Hugs

  6. I’m glad you chose the blue colours as they are stunning! Wonderful stamping! Thanks so much for playing along at ATSM! xx

  7. Hi Brenda

    What a fun image .. .. I don’t think I have seen that one before.

    Great layout and use of your snippets two

    Hope you have a good day.

    Love Jules xx

  8. gorgeous colours on the card and super image just beautiful, thank you for joining us at the House Mouse and Friends Monday Challenge
    Hugs Kate xx

  9. This is a really pretty card with the cool colors. It really makes the butterflies pop. I love your diecuts up each side – a really nice touch here. Thanks for playing along with us at Sweet Sketch Wednesday!
    Sharon, SSW-DT

  10. Hi, Happy to hear the storm is missing you. We got rain today in SC. Not too bad. A blog friend in PA, (near Harrisburg) is expecting a lot of white tonight she wrote. And yes, I have quite a few friends from the ‘auld sod’ (I think that’s what they call it!), and a couple of O’Hara inlaws! Gotta do a little green for ‘em. I think I’m finished, now trying to get onto the bunny cards. Debating on WOYWW, since I’m behind – Uh-gin – on blog visitin’. Stay warm. Hugs

  11. Mondays are hard, I agree – but this card would make any MOnday better! Such a darling image and I adore the dimensional butterflies. Thanks for joining us this week at ATS&M

  12. Oh Brenda what a yummy card, I just adore your image and what a wonderful colour combo one of my very favourites. Cute embellishments and pretty design paper. Great card and thanks so much for sharing it with us at Sweet Sketch Wednesday and good luck.
    Hugs
    Kathie SSW-DT

  13. This is so gorgeous Brenda, always love those house mouse images, so very cute! Love that you are using up old papers too! Something I must start to do!
    Debxx

  14. Beautiful card with a sweet image. Love the 3 effect on the butterflies, Brenda.
    Thank you for joining us at the House Mouse and Friends Monday Challenge.
    hugs Dorte

Leave a Reply

