Sparkles Monthly Challenge #42 ~ Birds

A new challenge is starting today at Sparkles Monthly Challenge and we’d like to see Birds of any kind on your project.  We’re sponsored by the fabulous LOTV this month, a company that I’m sure needs no introduction at all, and they are generously providing a 10 GBP voucher to the lucky winner.

For my DT piece this time I made a Christmas card using a lovely new stamp from Impression Obsession that I managed to obtain in an after Christmas sale, and in my defense, when I made this we were being pounded by yet another Winter Storm and I was looking at 5″ of snow on the ground!  Right now it’s 10C and raining!  C’est la vie!!

I started by stamping my image on to GinaK Pure Luxury White card stock with Memento London Fog and colouring with Prisma pencils.  It was cut out with a Nesties Label One die and coloured with Distress Ink Antique Linen before removing it from the die.   I added Glossy Accents to the bauble and dropped in some bright red Martha Stewart glitter whilst it was still wet.  I have to say this looks better in real life.  Finally I used a Penny Black sentiment embossed in gold, and mounted it on to red card.

I cut a small card blank from Kraft card and stamped a little border with Brilliance Coffee Bean ink and a no name stamp that I picked up somewhere along the way!  I added some coloured ribbon that was free with a UK card magazine.

Please pop over to the main Sparkles blog to see the wonderful creations from my teamies, and if you have time, we’d love to see you join in this month.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: The Paper Company Kraft & Red card ~ GinaK Pure Luxury White Card
  • Stamps: Impression Obsession Chickadee With Ornament ~ Penny Black Winter Wonders clear set
  • Ink: Memento London Fog ~ Brilliance Coffee Bean ~ Distress Ink Antique Linen ~ Versamark
  • Embellies: Prisma Pencils ~ Glossy Accents ~ Martha Stewart Red Glitter ~ Spellbinders Labels One ~ Gold EP
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Heat Gun

**********************************************

Challenges:

ABC Christmas Challenge ~ Bingo (Ribbon, Animal & Die Cuts)

Crafty Hazel’s Christmas Extra Challenge ~ Anything Goes

Winter Wonderland ~ A Little Bird

C.R.A.F.T. Challenge ~ Christmas In March

LEJ Designs ~ Things With Wings

15 thoughts on “Sparkles Monthly Challenge #42 ~ Birds

  1. Love this too Brenda – great image and fabulous DT card! I’ll be following Sarn to the challenge blog as well – we playmates hunt in packs dontcha know :)

    Hugs, Di xx

  2. Beautiful Christmas card, love the glittery bauble and the embossed sentiment, I really must get my embossing powders out more!
    have a great weekend, Debxx

  3. So beautiful Brenda — I love birds – this looks like a fancy Chickadee. Your coloring is great – that’s all I use anymore is pencils. I love the distressing – what a beautiful job you did with that! And your tree ornament just completes the card perfectly — Brenda this is gorgeous!
    Sandy

  4. That is stunning ….love the stamp and the colouring …topped off with the perfect use of Xmas glitter.xx

  5. Beautiful card Brenda, love the cute birdie image and the embossing is gorgeous, thanks for your lovely comment and reminder i hadn’t put your link on the blog got memory like a sieve lol
    Hugs Shaz xx

  6. What a beautiful stamp, I love how you’ve coloured the bird. Thanks for playing along at CRAFT challenge. Sharon x

Leave a Reply

