What’s On Your Workdesk Wednesday 207

Wednesday again!  A quick dash around from me as I’m still busy, busy and trying to play catch up.  This coming weekend is Memorial Weekend and we’re off camping with friends for three days, we booked it up before we went to England and it seemed like a good idea at the time, but the reality is we could have done with this weekend at home to work on the deck and the garden.

Talking of the deck, you could say that this has been Andrew’s desk this week, as he’s had to completely sand the platform back to bare wood as we’ve had to change the stain this year, which requires a complete re-strip of the deck.  He decided against renting a large sander as they’re geared to completely flat surfaces (like indoor floors), and the deck boards have moved and become slightly cupped over the years so it would have involved a lot of hand sanding anyway to finish it off ….

So he has chosen to do the entire thing by hand with a small Dewalt orbital sander!  It’s taken days so far!  I don’t envy him that task I can tell you!

In the meantime, I was trying to tame the garden that turned into a jungle but still  have a lot to do.  I can’t do it in one big stretch as I’ll put my back out!  So there have been breaks here and there, sitting at my desk naturally!, so at least there’s a desk shot this week.

Looking a lot more tidy than it was last week too.  Most of my new stuff has found homes, my lovely knitting needle case that Jan made me is already in use and all of the LOTV stamps are now  in a tin underneath my pink ATG.  I stamped each image out on to scrap paper to put in the plastic envelope with the stamp as I don’t like not seeing what they are.  So on the desk are my Prisma pencils, a Christmas card in the making, a  nice cup of green tea, a couple of card magazines that I found downstairs and the camera lead.

Not very inspiring, I think the deck shot is more interesting this week!  Head on over to Julia’s place for many more desks and all the info on joining in with WOYWW.

31 thoughts on “What’s On Your Workdesk Wednesday 207

  1. I don’t envy him either, but it will doubtless look fabulous when it’s all done… Love your very tidy desk though… have a great trip!

  2. Yes, I definitely did receive the cards, thank you so much for them! In fact I saw a hare today when we were coming back from taking Year 6 to their swimming lesson! I will definitely be making good use of the cards in the near future!
    Blimey but that is a Herculean task that Andrew has chosen to do….the decking will look great after he’s finished though!
    Oh, and I LOVE that rainbow of pencils in the box….OCD me would have to put them back in the right colour..sad but true :-)
    Hugs, LLJ 40 xxx

  3. Wow big deck, big job for Andrew. Desk looks fabulous this week. Enjoy your weekend away. Thanks for linking me
    Famfa x

  4. The deck shot truly IS great. I know exactly what you are talking about, since my porch boards are already starting to warp and bow. I also don’t envy Andrew’s job, or your electric bill (grin).

    Happy WOYWW from #10, but you know since you’ve visited already.

  5. Your deck is fabulous but I don’t envy Andrew either, that looks like serious work! Your pencils still look so neat and tidy, mine are all different sizes now with my favourites being about 2 inches long! Also, I no longer keep them in a tin, I keep the trays on a shelf then spread them out to work from them.
    Is that mug Denby? I had some just like that. I seem to see one of my mugs on a desk somewhere in WOYWW land each week! Think I may have too many!
    Debxx

  6. Wow that is a huge task Andrew has given himself.Sadly my garden has totally got away from me …no idea where to start …if I could …but 10 mins and my back is aching ….one day I will keep the others to their promise of doing some bits …but they never have time …ah well, the cats and insects are happy lol.

  7. Y’all have such an interesting life – full of adventure! Brenda – you desk is full but organized — i hope you post pictures of your camping trip!
    sandy

  8. Hi Brenda,

    That’s a great deck you have there! Oh, but I don’t envy the task. Is that a magnolia tree in bloom? I haven’t planted anything yet – but my honeysuckle is starting to bloom and the russian sage is coming along nicely. I want to plant a tomato and squash plant this year to see how they do in my little yard.

    Your desk looks nice and busy! Thanks for stopping by my place already!

    Happy WOYWW
    Kay (6)

  9. There’s some very brave sanding going on there =)
    Your desk looks just lovely, a great workspace and, I imagine, a great view from the window.

  10. Crumbs – vey impressive work by Andrew there! Bet he’ll need your forthcoming break.
    Your desk is waaaaay too tidy Missus – love those pencils, sigh.

    Happy WOYWW, still working on the mahoosive load of bookmarks here so no time to join in.

    Take care and have fun on your trip!

    Hugs, Di xx

  11. Don’t envy that deck sanding one bit! Ours needs that treatment as well. Won’t happen THIS year though. What a beautifully tidy desk you have after your lovely trip. (Oh how I envy all you playground buddies getting to visit the UK this year…lucky girls!). You’ve got it all put it away very nicely, with your images stamped out…took a lot of discipline that. Don’t work too hard taming your garden…and glad that you had a great time on your trip over the Pond. TFS & Hugs

  12. Can you send Andrew out for hire once he’s finished your’s, please? He is single-minded and very handy!! As for you, I think a lot of us are switching off between the garden and the desk this time of year. I’m typing this with dirt under my fingernails; anyone but a gardener would say, “ew!” I’m like you with the back deal and have to take those breaks, so sometimes I just end up looking like a car mechanic until I can totally finish up a project and get in a good hand soaking.

    Glad your card arrived on your special day to help in the celebration! Smooches! Darnell #64

  13. Hats off to Andrew what a task and what an amazing job he has done with it, really well done.
    You are also looking nice and tidy I hope you enjoy your time away
    Sending hugs and hoping you have a great day
    Ria #74

  14. WOW I need deck repair done if Andrew runs out of things to do to yours…actually got a man coming to give me an estimate next monday. Great looking desk always so neat and tidy! I didn’t make it around to many blogs last week so I promised myself that I would visit everyone who visited me first this week. I hope you have a great week and thanks for sharing. Vickie #26

  15. That is a LOT of sanding! He must have lots of patience! Lovely workspace and I love the prisma pencils. Thanks for sharing and Happy Woyww Liz@145

  16. oh your desk is always so tidy…you are a little neat nick! Boy, there has to be a better way to strip that deck…maybe some stripper or a steam cleaner? YIKES!!! Well Happy WOYWW anyway! ♥ Sue Kment

  17. Good grief, he must have the patience and stamina of ten men to take that task on! Bet it will look fabulous when it is finished though. Your desk is, as always, totally neat and tidy and pristeen!! Annette #25

  18. I LOVE the photo of your husband’s “desk”… what a work! And a christmascard? Really? Anyway, happy ~ belated ~ woyww and a hug from Holland. Marit #109

  19. Wow what a task ~ that’s gonna take an age :( and well done for making a start on the Christmas cards. Are you joining in with Creative Craft World’s ‘beat the Christmas rush’? they set a challenge for 5 cards a month to have 60 in time for the holidays! I am behind already :o
    Happy WOYWW x
    Karen #80

  20. That’s one huge deck to be sanding with a little sander for your hubby. It’ll be worth it when you are sitting out there enjoying it again. You have a very tidy desk there, really needs to be messed up a bit (he he). I nearly fell over when you said you were making a Christmas card, it’s only May,
    don’t scare me like that!! I’m glad you are still enjoying the Egbert bookmarks.
    Have a great week.
    Von #66

  21. This deck is going to look fabulous when finished…but what a gigantic task. He deserves a medal for undertaking this!
    Bet you willl have many a wonderful get together once it is finished.

  22. now THAT’s a deck!! your ATCs are looking good so far :)
    sorry it’s taken so long to reply – the days have just evaporated!
    happy belated WOYWW x

  23. I do not envy your hubby’s job! That’s a lot of work! I also have a jungle I’m trying to tame too, and it has a lot of poision ivy in it,,itch itch…OK, I am asking my WOYWW folks to rally behind me and I truly need your support. I am in a contest and the voting ends today so it’s now or never. PLEASE go vote for me ( the camera )….yes, I am begging, lol http://www.genuinelyjanestudios.com/genuinelyblog/gjs-design-a-book-contest-top-three-finalists-announced/
    waving hi from the hills of North Carolina ♥ ( #19 )

  24. That sure is a lot of sanding to be done. I think hubby needs a drink!! Gosh look at al those coloured pencils. You don’t mind if I have a little rummage through do you! Hugs Mrs a.

Leave a Reply

