What’s On Your Workdesk This Cold, Cold Wednesday?

-8C (7F) and three inches of snow.  We won’t speak of that again!  Not in this post anyway.

My desk, boring, boring, boring.  Mostly filled with stuff I can’t show you for either DT work or GDT work, but it’s a bit nippy up in the room so I’m sitting by the fire finishing off writing cards to be posted locally, knitting (there’s a surprise) and reading Agatha Christie, a good read for chilly nights by the fire with a mug of hot cocoa I can tell you.

There is a grungy, inky paper on the mat, the beginnings of a birthday card for a teenage boy, needed for the end of December.  Also a British knitting magazine and my needle roll cover, I intend making a start on that lacy shawl on the front cover very soon; there’s a poinsettia card at the back with the sentiment stamp I used beside it in the packet; a cling stamp on the mat, not Christmas themed believe it or not!  And not much else tbh!  Oh, by the poinsettia card is another Christmas stamp, on it’s side so probably hard to tell what it is!  It’s a Penny Black.

So this is me this week, how are you doing?  Link up your desk with Julia so we can all come and visit.  Toodlepip!

27 thoughts on “What’s On Your Workdesk This Cold, Cold Wednesday?

  1. When I first saw the poinsettia stamp (and before I read about it) I thought it was a reindeer. Guess I need glasses. That shawl will be beautiful when you finish it.

    Have a great WOYWW from (I’m as shocked as anyone) #1.

  2. Yessss yes! cold up stairs in my room too. That hot cocco sounds pretty good think im going to go get me a cup. Thanks for the idea and tfor the peek and bright blessings to you and yours. Roberta #6

  3. Reading, knitting, hot cocoa sounds great to me. I have been doing a lot of reading lately too. I think the cold and early hours sun down make me want to hibernate. Can’t wait to see your DT projects.

    Have a blessed day!
    Belinda (7)

  4. Think I need a hot cocoa too, it’s summer here, but typically Aussie weather, wait a few minutes it changes. Hope you have a great week and happy crafting.. DeDe #5

  5. Fantastic organized desk, Brenda! Good job!! That shawl will be pretty; can’t wait for you to model it while looking artistically off in the distance! Hey, it is nippy there, huh, even worse than what we have when I said it was nipply. I thought sure you would catch that in my post, but no one has caught it (or at least not said anything). I know, it’s because I talk too much, who can read all those words?! Happy WOYWW, have a great week, and thanks again for the special treat for the twinks!! Hugs, Darnell #22

  6. I don’t think your desk looks boring at all! The shawl pattern looks lovely and that needle roll is pretty and practical! Enjoy your cocoa and stay warm! Julie Ann xx #45

  7. No snow in these parts, but we did have flurries yesterday. It makes me feel snug in a rug for sure. I’m in a mad dash to Christmas and will soon be sitting sipping tea and crochet!
    Glenda #64

  8. Your recipe for beating the cold sounds like great fun! Put the kettle on again, will you? I’ll be around in 5….. ;-)
    Well, you may not have much you can show us but by goodness, you’re just as busy as ever!!
    Hugs, LLJ 43 xx

  9. Funny as I was sitting reading this I was having a hot chocolate does that count? Love that grungy background, excellent for a boys birthday card, soon to be a masterpiece created by you. Don’t forget to share the finished card with us.

    Hugs Eliza & Yoda 66
    Happy WOYWW

  10. Great desk with lots of things in progress. I am thinking about knitting a lacy shawl but have never done lace so I am a bit intimidated to start. It has been horribly cold here recently and with the snow it is too cold and messy to go out at 61 I am afraid to break a hip! Hope you are having a great holiday and stay warm! Vickie #62

  11. Your desk looks way too organized. I’m with you when it’s cold, a good book, a hot drink and a warm fire, there is nothing better. We are warming up…looking forward to a break in the cold. Want me to send you a bit of our sunshine?

  12. Your poinsettia card is really pretty and elegant. Perfect. Thank you for your visit this week. I am hoping that the worst of the cold holds off just long enough for me to plant my pansies, bulbs and wallflowers etc. That sounds a bit too cold where you are. I don’t do cold. Hope you still manage to get around in the snow, and stay warm and safe. xx Maggie #23

  13. Hahaha. I was waiting for you to call me on that, B, and you did not disappoint! Luckily, you were the only one I made that pronouncement to ~ hey, the prerogative of women, right?! That epic mess, which I don’t like either, was just too good not to share!! Hugs, Darnell

  14. Hi Brenda,
    Glad to call in after quite a time. The poinsettia card took my eye immediately and as usual, it’s always interesting to hear about weather that is the opposite season. I must say that we have had unseasonal rain here and everything is growing apace which means that we’re in for some nasty grass fires when it gets hot. Ah well…
    All the best,
    Ros. #90

  15. Hi Brenda, it is cold and snowing here too. Yesterday I went out and roads were clear. Went in a store and when I came out it was snowing big beautiful flakes. Took me forever to get home, roads were a mess. I received your package, and was so pleasantly surprised. How very sweet of you to send me the delicious treat bag of chocolate covered nuts and your wonderful card. I don’t have that image, and now that I have seen your card, guess I will have to find it!! Thanks so much for sending it my way, made my day. You are a sweetheart!
    Big Hug
    Happy Holidays
    Sue Drees

  16. Can’t believe it’s nearly Wednesday again before I visit!
    I am doing more knitting and some crochet, it’s a Winter thing. A few more Winters and I might just finish my jumper!!
    Karen #54

Leave a Reply

