What’s On Your Wordesk Wednesday ~ The Deep Freeze Edition

I’m not going to go on but it’s the coldest that I’ve ever experienced in my entire life here right now, -17F (-28C) for a low overnight and a lot colder than that with wind chill taken into consideration (almost -40C).  Only for another day though then it will start to lift.  So we won’t mention it again, that and the 13″ of snow that fell here on the 5th, on top of the 11″ that fell on New Year’s Day!  We won’t mention that either!

It’s Wednesday and I have a desk to show you, not a very interesting one as I haven’t been in the craft room at all (too cold but we won’t mention that), so it’s starting to collect stuff instead of being used.

There are two storage binders at the front that I got for Christmas, one now holds all my LOTV stamps and the other will be holding that pile of stamps on top.  There’s a corrugated piece of card and some gold wrapping from a Christmas gift, behind that is a few stamps that were in a parcel my Mam sent over from England, and to the right of that on the black magnetic sheet are some Joy Craft snowflake dies that I treated myself to right before Christmas.

So instead of paper crafting I’ve been knitting.  First up is an almost completed cowl for Andrew in a basket weave pattern…

A simple pattern in a gorgeous wool, his choice entirely.  The wool is Madelaine Tosh Merino DK in Glazed Pecan.  Next up is yet another sock, but this one is a wee bit special as I bit the bullet and tried a lace pattern.  I picked something that looked really easy, and it is, and I really like how it’s coming along, I’m just about to work on the heel flap now…

I joined in with a sock challenge over on Ravelry as the first challenge of the year was for lace and it was the impetus I needed to give it a go.

So that’s me this week, head on over to Julia if you don’t know why I’m showing my messy desk off to the world.  And I have to say, as life threatening as this cold snap is, I’d much rather have this than all the floods and storms that have been pounding the UK over the last few weeks.  Hope everyone is safe and dry.  I’ll be doing some more knitting to keep warm!

17 thoughts on “What’s On Your Wordesk Wednesday ~ The Deep Freeze Edition

  1. Good to see this post, I’d been fretting a bit about how bad it is where you are B and emailed earlier today!

    Any chance you could knit some longjohns?

    Hugs, Di xx

  2. Hello. I think you had better hurry up with the cowl and sox – sounds like you need them. I like Di’s suggestion of longjohns too! I keep wishing our rain would turn into snow and we would be like you!
    Keep warm and safe Brenda.
    Hugs
    xx

  3. to hear how your weather is I am not surprised that you are knitting and not paper crafting. I would be knitting never ending blankets and getting the whole family under them. I hope it does all start to improve for you soon
    Have a great WOYWW today and enjoy the rest of your week
    Hugs Ria #6

  4. Looks like you have a busy desk going on over there Brenda. I do love your knitting – the basket weave is gorgeous. The pink lace looks so special and I think it would make a stunning scarf too.
    Sandy

  5. I have been thinking of you, Famfa and all the other deskers over there. I cannot even begin to imagine what those temperatures are like…. It has been incredibly stormy too over here – apparently Chesil Beach has completely changed after the massive storm surges – but Wiltshire seems to have escaped reasonably well though apparently Salisbury Cathedral is surrounded by a lake!
    Love your lacy pattern, they’re a lot easier than they look. I have an ancient Good Housekeeping book that gives a shedload of different laces/faggoting patterns. Very useful :-)
    Hugs, LLJ 2 xx

  6. Hope you survive the cold – such temperatures that I cannot begin to understand! (but of course, we’re not talking about the snow or cold, are we, lol!) Hope your fingers are able to continue knitting in the (cold we’re not talking about) – think you’ll both need all those layers. Take care, and wrap up! Helen, 100

  7. A warm hello Brenda…. oh dear I can’t believe the weather, and I surely couldn’t live in your freeezing part of the world, my mind doesn’t comprehend those temps…and so I have nothing to complain about the tropical wet we’re experiencing – the strong winds are a bit scary but the rain a blessing after last weeks extreme heat..opposite to you. So lets ignore the lot and keep crafting, love the lacy socks, and crazy – a knitting challenge, wow. Cheers this week RobynO#55

  8. My oh my, those temperatures defy belief!! Getting off lightly here in London and a dry day today but yep, we sure have seen some rain. Great woolly projects, keep cosy, Happy WOYWW Cindy #46

  9. Hello Brenda-Happy New Year :)
    Beautiful creations as always-oh,golly-your temperatures brrrr-you have to knit faster LOL!!We have done so well here in the UK this winter so far-barely had a minus overnight,but i see the long range forecast says we may have some minus 10 overnight in the next couple of weeks-but,compared to you that is almost tropical!
    Have a good day-and stay warm-see you soon,Nessa xxx

  10. Sounds very cold over there, here we are dying from heat! At least it has started raining, so it might cool off a bit now. One good thing about the cold is that knitting keeps you warm too. love what you are knitting.
    Happy WOYWW!
    Tertia #50

  11. Oh Brenda also thinking of you as that 2 feet of snow melts now.. sigh!! wow why do we live wehre we live??
    … must admit could not handle the cold.. went to Finland in 2012 with family and my antarctic long-johns were great.. and spencer too toasty all over but feet and had big snood on shoulders/ head :D
    …actually you would love the knit pattern on it as it is lovely too but as not knitter no idea on it – bought by my family while I was there on eBay. :D
    love your lacey sock how clever is that?? and cowl too :D
    Shaz in oz.x

  12. Brenda, your knitting surely will keep you warm this winter. Can you believe the weather you are having? Your desk is organized as always and I love the lace pattern. Very pretty! You do good work! Actually great work!

  13. Your weather sounds challenging enough without tackling all that new knitting. I’m not sure if socks or cowls are my favourite knits at present and you have both, winter weather is my least favourite weather and you have that too. Keep snug.

  14. I’m sorry I’m so late visiting what with Mister under foot and Blogger playing hide’n’seek with my comments, grrrr. I tried poofing the irritation away and it did NOT work!!

    I’ve heard it is supposed to warm up considerably by you. Don’t catch your death now, Brenda, running around in your shorts and sandals when it hits 20 outside!!

    Love your neat stamp organization, Andrew’s fab cowl, and the sock beginnings! Knitting seems the perfect hobby for cold winter nights. I hope you are enjoying the weekend! Hugs, Darnell #12

Leave a Reply

