What’s On Your Workdesk Wednesday ~ 252

Hello All – It’s another Wednesday again and another trip round the desks of the world courtesy of our Julia!   I have a newsflash for you!  We are finally (mostly) snow free!  Yay!  There is a bit of it still hanging around in the wooded areas and in the corners of North facing fields, but we’re had a number of days over 10C (50F) in the last week and actually ate our lunch and afternoon tea sitting on the deck last Sunday.

But, you’re here for a desk… not much going on as I’ve been keeping it tidy.  You might be excused for thinking that you saw that same pile of Ebayed knitting magazines last week, but you didn’t!  That’s a new lot, lol!!  Lot’s of British and Australian ones in that pile, but I’ve got more than enough now so I’m not looking for any others!

 

Sitting on top of them is a new sock, just started yesterday.  It’s a Gansey inspired pattern which is based on traditional fisherman’s jumpers (sweaters).  They were often very regional specific patterns and motifs used in them and were knit by the wives to keep their husbands warm and safe whilst at sea.  Some of the designs were so specific that in the case of a large maritime disaster the bodies of the sailors could be identified from their jumpers.  It could even tie them to a single village in some instances.

Last week Margaret of Glitter and Glue asked to see inside my Christmas paper scraps box!  It’s not very exciting but here it is!

 

And finally, I also finished those green socks that were on my desk last week too:

Right, that’s your lot!  Thanks for stopping by!!

20 thoughts on “What’s On Your Workdesk Wednesday ~ 252

  1. Just LOOOOVE those socks – envy you too as I never could find the patience to knot socks! The blue looks nice – can’t wait to see how they turn out!!
    Happy (early) WOYWW
    Caz #12

  2. Oh wow, your socks look fantastic, such a pretty design and fabulous colour! My eyes must be failing me, when I first saw your blue wool I thought were you knitting a vase of some sort until I realised the bottom was the ball!
    Enjoy those mags, that should keep you going a while!
    have a great week, Debxx # 39

  3. I agree…just LOVE those socks hehe. It is coming into our winter season here in Australia so might need them! Groan..when I saw your Xmas paper as I am already thinking about getting presents organised as it crept up on me last year! Happy WOYWW.
    Janene #30

  4. When I looked at the new sock knitting I thought it was a gourd but non the less something different for you, then you said it was a sock LOL went back and had another hard look, it was the knitting sitting on top of the ball of wool, but hey I am not the only one LOL….

    Gosh you wouldn’t want to see my christmas scraps box, I need to refine mine. Have a happy crafting week and enjoy the warmth.

    Happy WOYWW
    Hugs Eliza & Yoda 36
    36 my favourite number

  5. I thought your new sock was a vase. It looks really good like that, all you need is a bright flower coming out the top :) I just love those green socks, they are really something. Hope the weather gets a lot higher for you, 10 C is freezing here.
    Have a great week,
    Von #48

  6. Great socks look really warm and cosy ..I always have cold feet !.I wish I could knit. Love the colour of your new wool have fab week and thanks for sharing with us crafty hugs Andrea #45

  7. Are you sure it’s a sock and not a bottle cosy? Looking good whatever it is :-). Love the green ones, beautiful colour and so neat.

    Happy WOYWW
    Ann B
    56

  8. Love the blue knit Brenda and well done on the green ones!!

    … yes can see some lovely snippets in there…
    … and so many magasines, wow! happy WOYWW Shaz in oz.x #47

  9. LOVE the socks you are knitting – I love that shade of blue! There’s something incredibly special about hand-knitted socks – not least a real appreciation of the immense skill involved!!
    Happy WOYWW!
    no. 50

  10. LOL I thought the thing on the mags was some fancy knitted vase, shows how much I know about knitting!! The green socks are fab, great pattern.
    Happy Wednesday
    Minxy {was #6 now #23}

  11. Hello Brenda. Thanks for visiting already and linking me up. Love the green socks you are wearing – but are you really standing on a chair in that image??! Thanks for the peek into the Christmas scraps box – oh, so organised – imagine having a box just for Christmas papers – mine are all jumbled together. I’m a Christmasoholic, you see, so couldn’t resist the peek! The colours, shapes and patterns are just irresistible.
    Have a great week now Spring is on its way with you.
    Margaret #22 not #67:-)

  12. Love them socks, missus! Such a yummy colour, clearly fitted to perfection. My feet are SO COLD RIGHT NOW I could just scream so green with green-sock envy.

    Happy WOYWW!

    Mary Anne (11)

  13. Glad I’m not alone – thought you’d gone all artisan and started on a vase! New craze! Love the colour and the Gansey story. So you sat on the deck for lunch and tea…were you in outdoors clothes and hats? You outdoosy types, mad. Poor Andrew, believe me 12 hours later and I can barely face the desk myself, so I have an inkling of what it would do to him!

  14. You should have done a guess what I’m knitting post, I’ve have said bottle. I love the different gansey patterns too, Filey near my part of Yorkshire produced some lovely ones though they are all touched with sadness because of the body recognition aspect. On a brighter topic, I have not bought any knitting magazines from ebay, someone in Michigan seems to have collared them all.

Leave a Reply

