What’s On Your Workdesk Wednesday

A mess if I’m honest.  It contains EXACTLY the same stuff as last week AND the week before, all I’ve done is add a bit to it!  I don’t know why I’m procrastinating, I’ve got stuff to do but I’m just not doing it!

Anyway, the new stuff is two lovely skeins of Alpaca sock yarn.  As I’m knitting many more patterned socks now I need yarn that can show off stitches nicely and not swamp them with lots of colours or quick colour changes, and that means solid, semi-solid or tonal yarn.  I got those two on Monday after work at another little yarn shop in the area.  Beside the yarn is a free sock pattern that they popped in the bag too, and underneath that  is a little pile of stamps that arrived on Tuesday in a little love parcel from the home front!

The other small ball of yarn is one I’ve listed for sale or trade on Ravelry, it was given to me but I can’t think of a single use for it!  Maybe someone will want it.

We had our first camping jaunt of the season last weekend when we went over to the SW side of Michigan.  We were at a race track with the Vintage racers that we’re friends with on the Saturday, it was fun but really cold, wet and windy.  Sunday brightened up and although it was still cold at least the sun was out, but the breeze right off the lake was mind numbing.  Still, at least we got out somewhere!  Roll on summer, lol!

That’s me this week.  To find out about this weekly desk lark head on over to Julia’s at The Stamping ground for all the info.

14 thoughts on “What’s On Your Workdesk Wednesday

  1. Roll on summer indeed, can quite imagine the cold off the water, brrrrrrrH!! I like the colours you’ve chosen, and how enterprising of the shop to give you a pattern! And of course, I see no mess at your desk!

  2. I love the colours of the yarn you’ve chosen – they are glorious and perfect for showing off your stitchery! That was nice of the shop to include the pattern, small things like that mean that I’d support them more often. The lady in the wool shop in Pewsey is like that – she always gives me 10% off if I mention that I’m making such and such for charity :-)
    The weekend sounds fun, if chilly. I had to cover up my spinach beet in the raised beds because the temps fell to freezing over the weekend. May in the UK, huh? One minute I’m getting sunburnt (playing at a fete on Sunday) and the next, bringing out the veg fleece!!
    Sending hugs,
    LLJ 2 xxx

  3. You are so lucky having more than one shop to choose from! Love the yarn, and all the “same as last week” stuff on the desk!! Helen 13

  4. That wool looks great – I’ve recently joined a knitting group, and really want to start socks. You’re very busy, without the crafting – take a leaf out of my book, cut yourself some slack and just tell yourself to enjoy life, one day at a time. I’ve spent far too long expecting too much of myself, and beating myself up for no reason, really. Hugs, and have a great week. Chris # 47

  5. I know what you mean – sometimes having too much on the to do list makes me grind to a halt completely ! Hope you get inspired into something fun soon ! Ali x #19

  6. Yep spotted the new wool. Great colors. Oh yes, I remember well how chill the wind off Lake MI can be. A memory from my childhood all those MANY years ago that stays with me. Hugs and Happy WOYWW! Nan G #8

  7. Lovely yarn and pattern for you socks. I don’t think I could find one yarn shop within 50kms let alone 2. Always a lovely desk to visit.
    Sandra @41

  8. Hello Brenda. Those yarns are beautiful I particularly like the red one – like you, I wouldn’t necessarily know what to do with it – but it’s gorgeous. Glad you managed a time out – even if it was mind numbingly cold to start with!
    Have a great week.
    Margaret #29

  9. Oh yes, I can see why you chose those yarns, the colours are wonderful and will make fancys titches take centre stage as it were. Even when your desk is a mess…. it isn’t!! LOL Annette #9

  10. Brenda, I think your desk looks ready and waiting. I’m sure all your crafting is going on in your mind, and soon those fingers will be moving as the thoughts become actions. Isn’t this a strange spring? I hope the bad weather has passed you by. May your next camp out be warm and sunny. Can you believe here in Northern California it’s supposed to be in the 3 digits by early next week. Crazy weather we are having. Happy crafting…

  11. Brenda, what beautiful colours those yarns, so tempting. And still Christmas bits on there I see, You will be ready for Christmas when it comes.
    Chris

  12. Sorry I am so late visiting not sure where the week had gone so having a quick fly round the desks before we start again, thanks for sharing – Nicky 11

Leave a Reply

