Happy Wednesday

Often known as What’s On Your Workdesk Wednesday!  I’ve been MIA for a couple of weeks, I was very busy at work and also a bit under the weather, nothing at all serious, just feeling a bit blah.  Nowhere near as blah as Julia must have been feeling I would guess, hope you’re well rested and on the mend now.

I have a desk but it has things on it that I can’t show you at this time, so I’ll do a quick catch up of my knitting!

 

At the front, the yellow socks are finished and represent pair No6 for this year.  On the right is a simple textured pattern called Hermione’s Everyday Socks, based on the character in the HP series of books and films, there’s an entire range of patterns for the HP characters, places, plants and heaven knows what else, I might knit some more.  The second one of this is underway at work during lunch breaks. In the middle is a new sock, a Mystery Knit-Along, the pattern was split into four and a new clue (the next section) is released on four consecutive Sundays, it’s turned out to be very pretty and fun to knit.  One that hasn’t been fun to knit though is lurking over on the left.  I started it in April and it’s based on old, traditional Gansey patterns, and to be frank, it bored the pants off me.  I can’t see it having a partner any time soon to be honest, but I do intend to finish it sometime!

Here’s a close up of a couple of them.

This one because although it may be simple, it does wonders for the cheap, self striping yarn I bought when I first started knitting socks a couple of years ago.

 

And this one because I love the colour, love the yarn (it has Alpaca in it), I love the twisted rib at the top, and you can’t see it well at the moment, but it’s a really pretty pattern.

Chin, chin.  Must knit now!

14 thoughts on “Happy Wednesday

  1. This must be the first Wednesday post that is totally knitting, you are on the turn, out with the paper and card, sparkles and glue, in with more yarn. Lovely socks, be proud.

  2. It is interesting to see how the different stitches and yarns work in the same garment! The variety is endless really :-)
    Sorry to hear you’ve been under the weather – hope things are picking up again for you now.
    Hugs, LLJ 16 xx

  3. Must knit now!! I don’t know why, but that made me larf! Glad you’re back in charge of your health..am a bit poorly still but recovering for sure, thank you! The pink is wonderful, and I should imagine that just wearing them and looking down will raise a smile..really pretty stitch. The Hermione sock is just that – Hermione….very clever; crikey they can market anything!

  4. Pretty songs. They look so soft. I don’t knit so these creations always make me smile. Hope you’re feeling right as sunshine soon. Creative Blessings ~Kelly #73

  5. What I want to know is how many beautiful pairs of socks can one person wear anyway. You are indeed the sock queen Brenda. I have had a touch of the blahs too but it was caused by too much computer time and trying to find my way in this making stuff world and letting the house go to pot!! All closets and drawers and storage areas will be cleaned out this summer. I have also gotten behind in my gardening. But I have managed to catch another feral cat (we have three now)- a little boy – had him checked out real good – neutered – and started his shots. He takes a lot of time as I am trying to tame him. I have petted him a little but very little. He is very dubious about me touching him but he does let me closer to him all the time. He will eat cat snacks out of my hand. Will be traveling with the grand kids this summer too. So I will not be on the computer as much but will definitely start back in the fall. Have a good summer Brenda! And your socks are gorgeous!!
    Sandy xx

Leave a Reply

