After the really freezing temperatures of the last week or so, today wasn’t half bad, hovering around 0C (32F) and not much of a breeze. It was a bit dull and grey, but we really needed to get out, so we dusted off the cross country skis, literally, waxed then up and headed off to Kensington Metro Park. I’ve mentioned this park more than once before, it’s where we like to kayak during more hospitable weather! No kayaking to be had today though, there were ice fishermen out on the lake so it must be completely frozen over to quite a depth, as the park authorities are very careful about when they allow the people out on the ice.

We chose a large, fairly flat, open meadow for our little ski trip, mainly because it’s been about 4 years since we’ve been on skis of any description. As usual A managed to get straight back into it, while I floundered about a bit like a new born foal trying to stand for the first time, but I was very happy to only fall down twice while we were there! Although the first time hurt like hell as I landed very hard on my bum! My poor coccyx certainly knew about it I can tell you!

After about an hour and a half we headed off for a coffee and then we called in Jo-Anns as I had two 40% off coupons burning a hole in my pocket, so I got a couple of new rubber stamps for my expanding collection.

Once home we put a chicken in the oven to roast, prepared Monday’s lunches and got all our chores done before sitting down to a lovely roast dinner with all the trimmings. Right now I’m pretty zonked out on the sofa from over eating and exercising muscles I’d forgotton about. But it was really good to get out.

