A good friend of ours gets married a week today back home in England.  Unfortunately we won’t be able to make the wedding as it’s 3700 miles away!  Had we known in advance we would have changed our “visiting England” plans from April of this year to September, so we could attend, but we weren’t told until we were actually there, sitting in a coffee shop with him!

So I had to think of a wedding themed card to make for the happy couple.  I’d seen a quilled dress in a magazine article a couple of months ago and always had that idea in the back of my mind, but I wasn’t really sure if I could pull it off with my meagre card making skills.  Still, nothing ventured, nothing gained!

The bodice and sleeves are made of little quilled circles of varying sizes, with a paper bow between that and the dress skirt.  The skirt is nothing more than small strips of the quilling paper, glued at one end and pinched to a little point at the other end, I also carefully glued them to each other at the very top, where the skirt comes together to give it a bit more strength on the card.  On top of the little paper bow is a smaller quilled circle, in blue, for an accent, which also matches the backing paper I used.

I mounted the dress on white paper that I’d already stamped with a swirl pattern clear stamp from Hero Arts and shimmery silver ink from a stack of Color Box Cat’s Eye Queue inks.  This was my first foray into using clear stamps and I was mightly impressed I can tell you, the ink was also a new brand for me and I thought it was very easy to use and it stamped beautifully.  I mounted the white, stamped panel onto blue cardstock and then stuck it to the front of a 7″ by 5″ white card.  I mounted the “dress” with a little dab of glue onto each round and popped them into position using tweezers!  Given the fairy tale nature of the white dress I wanted to keep a similar theme for the sentiment, which I just printed out from the computer on white card and mounted it on another piece of the blue cardstock.  A posted it off for me just a couple of days ago, so I hope it will get there in plenty of time!

I was chuffed with the way it turned out, it was better in real life than these photos, but the sun had a lready set by the time it was finished (isn’t it getting dark early again now?), so I had to use the flash on the camera to get a good shot and the shimmery nature of the ink was rather reflective!  What do you think?  Do you like it?

I really enjoyed the quilling and would like to do more.  I spotted a book on Amazon that I think I’ll put on my Christmas wish list.  If you like paper crafting, of any sort, I would highly recommend learning the ancient art of quilling, it really does produce stunning results.

