Well, where has the week gone?  I blinked and missed it.  I’ve been very busy at work this last week, our Financial Year ends on March 31st and there’s just a huge push to get everything done on time, it’s had me quite worn out, to the point where I was coming home most days with a bit of a headache and just flaking out on the sofa!

I feel a bit better today though and thought I would show you what I’ve been working on in the card department.  They’ve taken longer than they should have, purely because I was too tired to do much with them this week, it’s been a bit here, a bit there, but they’re ready now.  The idea for this lovely card came from the equally lovely and very talented, Claire Brennan at Waltzing Mouse Makes.  She makes wonderful, creative cards and other amazing items made from paper.  If you haven’t seen her work you must pop over to her blog and have a gander.  Anyway, back to the cards, I love wandering through blogs for inspiration, there are some seriously talented people out there!, but what I invariably find is that I don’t have all the supplies and tools required (such as a Scorpal or a Cuttlebug) so I have to think about how can I adapt ideas to suit the items I do have.  The original of this card has a double embossed frame for the ribbon border, I had no way of recreating this, without parting with quite a few pennies that is, so I mocked up a double frame on the computer in Microsoft Word.  I added the text that I wanted, decided on the font and colour and printed directly on to white card stock.

The four slots for the ribbon to thread through are made with a Making Memories Slot Punch, I didn’t have this either, but was so enamoured with the thought of making this card that I went to the craft shop and bought one!  It only cost me $6.50 as I had a 50% off coupon that I used.   I punched under the text with a Martha Stewart Lace Doily punch, and stamped the centre panel adding a little Stickles to the flower heads.  The ribbon was from the $1 bin at the craft store!

As you can see there are two cards…. one for my Mums up-coming birthday in April and the other for my Mother in Law for Mothers Day in May.  I love the way they turned out, I can see me using this ribbon technique again.

