Just a quick post to show you two new cards.  The first one is for my stepfather for Fathers Day, men cards are so hard aren’t they?  The light was fading outside when I took the photo so it’s not the best shot!  All of the papers and the tag were download freebies from the very talented Summer Driggs, the coloured raffia came off a gift package so a bit of recycling there, I hand doodled the stitching and added a few buttons from the stash.  The sentiment was printed from the computer directly on to a clear sticky label and them trimmed to fit, this technique works really well with a busy background like this tag.  The tag itself was raised with sticky pads.

Next up is a thank you card I made for my Mum.  I really like unmounted stamps from an American company called See D’s, only problem is I’ve had such a hard time finding them of late, even their website is no more, I’ve got a horrible feeling they might have closed down or gone out of business.  Anyway, on the few occasions I have managed to get a set they’ve retailed between $7.99 and $9.99….. and then I found loads of them on an English site called Mad About Cards and in their clearance section for 1 pound each, that’s about $1.50 a set!  I couldn’t pass that one up and ordered 8 sets, plus a few other really cheap bits and bobs and had the whole lot shipped to my Mum because they don’t do international shipping.  I asked Mum to take the parcel to the Post Office and let me know the cost of the cheapest posting, which was surface mail and would take six weeks.  Well, they arrived five days later with a note from my lovely Mum saying that because I lived so far away I didn’t get any of the “treats” my brother and sister and nephews get from her… you know the kind of thing, she’ll see something small while out shopping and buy it and give it to my sister etc.  So this was her treat for me, to send me all the goodies for free!  So I made her this card using only stamps from the new sets that she’d very kindly sent over to me.

Again, sorry about the light, the sun was setting behind the card (top right corner!).  It’s a little collage card, a technique I’ve been wanting to do for quite a while but didn’t have any stamps small enough to use, it’s also my first attempt at a card like this so be gentle!!  There are a number of inks used including Tim Holtz Distress Inks, Versamark Chalk Inks, Cats Eye Queue Inks, a Stampenduous set and a Martha Stewart Ink Cube.  The sentiment was printed out like before on a clear sticky label but I don’t think this works quite so well on a clear background.  It’s finished off with a couple of gems.

