This is the card I made for a good friends surprise birthday party at the weekend.  Our friend Mike is a huuuge music fan and is always in the know as to what’s going on, who’s got a new cd coming out or who’s coming to town for a show.  He sends us emails about artists we like if they’re in the area, or doing on interview on TV etc; and his own music collection is nothing short of phenomenal, so I knew his card was going to have a rock star theme to it.

The stamp set is from Inkadinkado, all the images used here are from the set.  I stamped the white background paper with black Staz-On and then water coloured the little red joining sections in Distress Ink “Worn Lipstick”.  I then stamped the large skull and the guitar on to red card with the Staz-On and then carefully “painted” the open parts with Xmas Red Stickles, it took four applications of it to get good coverage on the guitar.  I considered embossing the guitar and skull in black but I though that would be too much, I like the way they turned out with just the glitter as an embellishment.  A few black metal dots finished the front.

Inside there is a longer strip of the skull and crossbones paper, edges inked with the Worn Lipstick Distress ink, and this time I did heat emboss the sentiment, and then edged it with the red Stickles.

I really wanted a grungy/glam rock look to this card, I was really happy the way it turned out, and so was Mike, which was the important thing!  I’m also glad I decided to use the Kraft as a card base, I’d considered black or red to match the stamping but I think it would have detracted from the stamps… and using just white would have been boring!

And the party was really good too, we didn’t leave until midnight, and I have to admit that we very, very nearly stayed over (not because of too much alcohol, just because it got late)  but I needed a good nights sleep in my own bed so I drove us home!

