So here’s a first from me…. I’m entering a home made card in a challenge!  There have been some major improvements in my crafting ability very suddenly, but more on that another time, so to celebrate I thought I’d see if I could come up with something half decent and enter it into a challenge.  I picked a Penny Black one as I’ve fallen head over heels with their images.  This weeks challenge is to use nothing but white on your creation, the only exception being your image, it can be coloured in.  Before I show you the photos I’ll make an apology in advance as the light levels here are terrible at the moment now that the clocks have gone back.  I get in from work around 5pm and the it’s already dusk with the official sunset around 5:20pm at the moment, the light levels are absolutely appalling inside and not much better outside.  If I was just showing you this card ordinarily I’d just wait until the weekend and photograph it during the day, but the card has to be entered into the challenge before the weekend, so here it is, warts and all!!

I think I threw every technique known to man at this card, and the challenge should be renamed Penny Black and Martha Stewart challenge!

Card Recipe:

  • Image – Penny Black, Royal Mail, See-D’s Whimsical Trees for the sentiment.  The image is coloured with pencils and accented with Frosted Lace Stickles.
  • White embossed paper is DCWV and I traced some of the swirls with Frosted Lace Stickles.
  • Border and snowflake punches are Martha, as is the glitter on the snowflakes; scalloped punch is Marvy Uchida and I pierced each scallop for good measure.
  • Ribbon is Papermania
  • Button, embroidery thread and crystals are from the stash.  Both the main and sentiment images are raised up on foam pads.

And that’s it, my first ever challenge card, and again, sorry about the awful photos!

Ooh, and talking of the crafting queen, have you seen her latest punches???  Martha Stewart double punches!  They’re like a border punch but the punch two borders on opposite sides of each other, giving you a slim piece of paper or card that looks like lace.  I saw them at Michaels today and they’re retailing for $17.99 each…. but I have two 50% off coupons, so I think I know what I’ll be getting!  I searched for them on the internet but couldn’t find anything to show you.

