This isn’t the card I was going to show you today, I wanted to show you a stamped one that I made up last week, I’m really proud of it!  Most of the cards I’ve made in the past have either been shaped, or punched or printed off the net and matted and mounted kind of cards, nothing really exciting, not the kind of beautiful creations I’ve seen on peoples blogs.  I have stamps, quite a few in fact but I lacked the courage to use them and I certainly lacked the know how, but this year I’ve paid a lot more attention on blogs, emailed the blogger and asked questions, found sites to demonstrate techniques and linked up with a lot of other like minded people who gave me, not only inspiration, but the encouragement I needed too.  Having a little space of my own has helped tremendously, and a couple of wet summer weekends were rather happily spent faffing about, trying things out and practicing, there have definitely been a couple of  “light bulb” moments this year.

Anyway, all this waffle was intended to introduce my first set of Christmas cards all made with my own fair hands, from my own ideas and using nothing but my stamps.  Problem is, I’m sitting here at work on my lunch break, the photos of my cards are all ready to go…. but I’ve gone and left the “ingredient” list for the card at home!  So boo to me, I’ll have to do that post another day!

But staying true to my roots, I still like punches very much and I like using them in different ways.  I’ve seen quite a few stamps of trees this year with rather large stylized circles instead of leaves and I’ve it in my mind that I could make a Christmas tree along similar lines but use punches instead…. so I came up with this:

I’m quite happy with the way they came out, I can see a couple of things I’d change if I did them again, one being the tree trunk, it’s a bit too wide.  I think I’d also like to get a sentiment on there somewhere, perhaps change out one of the punched rounds for a stamped and punched round… but I like the overall look and feel of them.  I’ve been in a very vintagey, home spun, cabin in the woods kind of a mood since August, which is when I started playing about with my Christmas stamps, the card I wanted to show you today also has an old fashioned look to it, I can see looking at these “trees” that I still have that feeling running just beneath the surface!

If anyone has any constructive comments about these cards I’d really love to hear them, good or bad.  What would you have done with these if you’d been making them??  I have quite a lot of ideas but I’m not always sure if I could have executed them any better!

Supplies:

Marvy Uchida 1 1/4″ scalloped punch; Fiskars paper crimper; all card from The Paper Company; DP mainly from DCWV, the holly paper is Heidi Grace for Fiskars; Making Memories brads; Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Antique Linen, ribbon from stash and foam pads to lift a couple of the circles up.

