Ah, my little vintage Christmas cards. This is what I wanted to show you the yesterday when I showed you the punched cards instead. I was very happily looking at this little set of four cards when Andrew came into the room, he looked too and said “I like those, they look quite old”, which pleased me no end as that was the effect I was aiming for!

They were quite simple, just 5″ squares of vanilla cardstock, the stamped pine branch, ornament and sentiment, plus a bit of sponging around the edges, but they were a big step forward for me. For a start there are three separate stamp sets used here and I stamped directly onto the card so there were endless opportunities for me to screw it up! I never stamp directly onto the card, I always screw it up! Plus I usually have a hard time putting things together, my cards usually have “too much” or quite simply “not enough”. There’s not a bit of extra bling apart from a little Stickles and the embossing powder for the sentiment and absolutely no design paper in sight. Nothing. Plain and simple. I think I got it right. And I like them a lot.

Supplies:

  • Card: The Paper Company
  • Inks: Tim Holtz “Antique Linen”; Tsukineko Brilliance “Coffee Bean”; Q Pigment Ink “Verdigris” & “Black”; Stampology “Rouge Red”
  • Stamps: Stampendous for the Pine Branch; The Paper Company for the Ornament (Christmas Glamor clear set); Stampa Rosa for the Sentiment
  • Other: Stickles Frosted lace; clear embossing powder; Tsukineko black pen

*******************************************************************

Edited to add that Debbie has the most amazing blog candy on offer to celebrate 200,000 hits on her blog.  So pop on over and put your name down, but also make sure you have a look around… this young lady is a Copic master!

Also, Shirley is celebrating a triple whammy on her blog so pop over and say hi.

