Just popping in for a very quick post to show you my challenge card for this week’s Penny Black Saturday Challenge.  The theme this week is Winter Wonderland, and it looks like a bumper week of prizes over on the Challenge, plus some wonderful cards from the Design Team too, oh to be that talented!!

Anyway, on to the card.  I was at Archivers on Friday night and they’re the only place locally that stocks Penny Blacks so I picked up the clear set “Holly Jolly” as it’s really hard entering these challenges with just the same two stamps to choose from each week!  As you can see, I chose Hedgie and the Snowman for this card, and water coloured them with inks, plus the obligatory Stickles!  I also decided to stick with the same tall card blank that I used last week, I like this size, 9 1/4 x 3 3/4 I think it is.

The wonderful DP is DCWV 2009, and I picked up a great tip from the equally wonderful Kath.  She often jazzes up a monotone background like this with the addition of a little bright red, it really makes things pop, so I followed suit and overstamped the paper with a little snowflake and red ink.  Makes a huge difference I think.

The ribbon is actually light blue and pale green on white and matches the DP perfectly, but with the late afternoon light it looks a little yellowy!  I got this ribbon last year out of the Dollar Bin at Michaels and didn’t get an opportunity to use it until now.  The little blue snowflakes are the left overs from the blue snowflake border I cut out for last weeks card.  It pays to save all the little punched bits!

Supplies:

  • Paper: DCWV ~ DP and white embossed card : Card blank from K & Co.
  • Stamps: Penny Black ~ Holly Jolly : Inkadinkadoo ~ Holiday Wishes Clear set
  • Inks: Tim Holtz Distress Antique Linen : Stampology Rouge : Q Pigment Ink Merlot : Stazon Black : Various Inks for colouring the image
  • Tools: Stickles Crystal White & Xmas Red : MS Fine Glitter : Marvy Uchida 2″ round punch :  Fiskars Black pen : Clear embossing powder : Ribbon from stash : Trimmings from EK Success Snowflake punch
