Phew!  Where is the time going?  The last couple of weeks have passed in a bit of a blur of business.  Busy at work (but I won’t bore you with that!), and busy at home with the last of the Christmas preparations taking place.  The house is now fully decorated, all of the cards are written and posted, gifts have been bought and are now wrapped and under the tree, the turkey is ready for picking up, cookies and biscuits have been baked, I’ve made three types of pastry (sweet, savoury and puff) and they’re all now in the freezer ready for pulling out when we need them, I’ve also made a few mince pies but I need to make some more.  The only thing not done yet is I have to make the marzipan for the cake, then I’ll be finished as we don’t plan on icing it, maybe just a dusting over the top.

And talking of a dusting, we’ve been exceptionally lucky in the weather department and have managed to dodge the big storms that have been plaguing the East and the MidWest of this country!  Even the atrocious weather that was headed straight for us in my last post veered a little more North than was predicted and left us with only 3″ of snow instead of the 16″ other places got!  We did suffer with the appalling cold temperatures and gale force winds though, it was pretty chilly there for a few days and I had to make a couple of diversions on the way home one night due to fallen trees.

These few shots were taken in my garden in Saturday after an overnight, light 2″ snowfall, it was incredibly still and I rushed to capture these delicate grasses before the sun peeked out and melted Mother Natures amazing handiwork.  I found the following quotes on the web, and on this, the longest night of the year, they brought me a little inner peace and happiness in this hectic world.

“People don’t notice whether it’s winter or summer when they’re happy.”-   Anton Chekhov

“Winter, a lingering season, is a time to gather golden moments, embark upon a sentimental journey, and enjoy every idle hour. ”
–   John Boswell

“The cold was our pride, the snow was our beauty.   It fell and fell, lacing day and night together in a milky haze, making everything quieter as it fell, so that winter seemed to partake of religion in a way no other season did, hushed, solemn.” –   Patricia Hampl

“In the depths of winter I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer.”-  Albert Camus

“How can those who do not garden, who have no lot in the great fraternity of those who watch the changing year as it affects the earth and its growth, how can they keep their hearts warm in winter?” – Francis King

