Lol, I wonder how long I can come up with “First of 2010” titles for this year??   Hopefully not very long!

I made these two cards over the Christmas break, after I’d cleaned up the mess I’d made in the craft room, and found new homes for all of my new Christmas stash.  It was nice to have a fiddle and a play for a few hours, especially as I was able to break open the packaging on some of my new items.

Both these cards will be birthday cards.  This is the first one:

There are quite a few stamp sets involved here so I won’t list them all!, but I edged the card with Tim Holtz ink and then over stamped in shades of orange, yellow and pink.  The main panel is an Inkadinkado clear stamp, stamped with Martha Stewart inks and matted on to Bazzil card edged with a Martha Stewart punch.  The seed beads are glass and are made in Czechoslavakia and I threaded them onto embroidery thread.  Of course I then realised that I couldn’t thread my wonderful beady creation on to the card without cutting a notch in the left hand side spine!  Hopefully it’s not too noticeable!

My next card is very simple.  I do love simple cards and have a hard time putting lots of embellishments onto cards and making it all come together in a coherent fashion!  This uses some new Christmas supplies:

This one uses another Inkadinkado set, that I got for Christmas, called Flower Garden, where all the 23 stamps in the set are no larger than one inch square.  I used the same stamp with different inks and raised up one of the panels on dimensional foam to break up the flatness of it.  The scored, raised lines were done with my new (and favourite) present, a Scorpal, which I already know is going to be my new best friend.  Both sentiments were from the same set as the main flower on the first card, it was sitting right in front of me and seemed such a perfect fit.  This one will be in the post tonight for a local friends birthday on Sunday.

