Oh I had such a hideous, stressful drive to work today.  It took me 90 minutes instead of the more normal 30 mins, and 15 minutes of that was sitting completely stationery, and then we only started moving forward again because some vehicles in front of me gave up and turned around!  We have some snow you see, coming down pretty hard it is and all the roads are a mess.  The storm was forecast so they’ve been out plowing and salting all night but the temperature is hovering right around freezing point so all the melting snow keeps re-freezing.  Driving to work this morning was like driving across a ploughed and rutted field with absolutely no grip whatsoever in a huge, long, snaking line of cars doing about 20mph.  It was hair raising to say the least!  It’s still snowing and we’re under the Winter Storm Warning until 4pm today so I don’t suppose it’s going to be any better going home later!

Still, there was a bit of cardage going on this weekend, which was beautiful by the way.  We got up early and went downtown Detroit to Eastern Market with a friend of ours, she’s at a bit of a loose end as her husband got sent to Germany on business for three months!  It was a bit cool but turned out lovely and sunny.  Sunday wasn’t bad either and we went for a walk in the afternoon, in between bits of crafting, cake baking and soup making!

So here’s my first card from the weekend, I’ll show you the other one later this week as it’s for Andrew’s birthday, and just in case he catches a sneak peak of it on here, I’ll wait until after the big day.  This one here was supposed to be his birthday card but he wouldn’t keep out of the craft room Friday night and so he saw me making it!  I wasn’t happy about it I can tell you, and I won’t repeat what I yelled at him!!!

I’ve had this little The Paper Company set of coffee and tea stamps for quite a while but hadn’t inked them up.  I love some of the sentiments… my favourite being “I don’t have a problem with caffeine, I have a problem without caffeine!”  Pretty much sums me up!  What I set out to achieve was a wonderful warming cup o joe, drank in a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere with a real fire burning and a good newspaper or book to read.  That’s the look I was going for, like your favourite comfy pj’s, a little shabby round the edges perhaps but just so perfect to curl up in!  Yes, I’m describing a card!!  Really!!!

The center panel (the brown embossed bit) is the inside of one of those cardboard coffee sleeves they put on your take out coffee cup as an insulator.  I’d saved a few of them for an occasion just like this.  I wanted it to look a bit grungy so I ran the edge of a decorative edge pair of scissors around it (in lieu of a distressing tool) and then daubed ink around the edges before crumpling it up a bit.  I also rubbed some of the ink over the embossed bits of the sleeve.  The ink, by the way, was the perfectly named Tsukineko Coffee Bean Brilliance ink!  How amazing was that!

The background was coloured with Distress Antique Linen, edged with Coffee Bean and then overstamped with an Inkadinkado wood mounted script stamp in Coffee Bean, after first stamping off to get a lighter impression.  I then did the same again with a Rubber Stampede wood mounted Harlequin patterned stamp in Antique Linen.  The orangey/red card is stuck directly to the card base and both the center panel and the image are popped up on foam dots.  The image is also stamped in Coffee Bean, clear embossed and water coloured with Memento inks.  The jute twine and the lovely wooden button were from my stash, and I frayed the edges of the twine.

Recipe:

  • Card: 4″ x 5 1/4″ white card base ~ The Paper Company coloured card ~ Recycled coffee sleeve
  • Stamps: Inkadinkado Script ~ Rubber Stampede Harlequin ~ The Paper Company clear set Coffee Cafe
  • Inks: Tsukineko Brilliance Coffee Bean, Summer Sky, Danube Blue & Wheat  ~ TH Distress Antique Linen ~ Colourbox Q Black
  • Tools: ~ Clear embossing powder ~ foam dots ~ twine from Michaels ~ wooden button from a pack bought a Meijer (like a big Asda, sells a bit of everything)
