This is how Andrew’s card turned out, and no, thankfully, he didn’t roll his eyes, but he did laugh!  But he said that was only because he couldn’t figure out what to do with it!  So I took it from him and stood it on the table, and then he was a bit more impressed and had a good look at it.

The stamp is the largest one I own at 3.5″ x 6.5″ and is a Stamps Happen one called Lighthouse Beacon, the artist is Doris Morgan, most of the stamps on this page are from her designs, and here is a link to her gallery which shows a lot more of her original artwork, you can browse through the links on the left.

After considering both an easel and a tri-fold card I finally went with a stair step, and put my Scor-pal to good use.  I also used the Scor-pal on the main image by scoring the card into 1″ squares before stamping the image.  I wanted it to look a bit like a tile, but of course, it made it next to impossible to colour in!  Initially it was going to be water coloured but I thought I might not be able to keep the “tile” look quite so accurately, so changed to pencils instead.  I also realised after spending ages colouring it in that I had no other nautical embellishments at all!  In fact, as Andrew is firmly in the less is more camp, what the hell was I going to put on it and fill up the steps!  Minor panic set in at this point and I nearly scrapped the whole idea!  But, after a nice afternoon cuppa and some cake I had a look through my other stamps and came across a little oaty/sea grass kind of design and decided to press on.  I also knew I wanted to use some jute twine as it in itself is a bit nautical, and I have quite a few buttons in “manly” tones so I thought I’d just add a couple of buttons threaded with the twine and be done with it.  The little brown button top left actually has an anchor on it!  How perfect was that?

So here it is, sorry about the flash photography, I’ll try and get some daylight shots at the weekend and re-post, I didn’t want to risk taking it downstairs to get a better picture before his birthday just in case he saw it.

Recipe:

  • Card: The Paper Company
  • Stamps: Stamps Happen “Lighthouse Beacon” ~ Hero Arts (birthday) ~ Rubber Stampede (grass)
  • Inks: Stazon Black, Memento Sage, New Sprout, Pear Tart, Cottage Ivy, Sahara Sand, Danube Blue
  • Tools: Scor-pal ~ Assorted pencils
  • Embellishments: Buttons and twine from stash

Edit:  The instructions for the stair step card can be found here, on Splitcoast Stampers.

