I’ve been missing these challenges the last couple of weeks.  I wasn’t able to enter for two weeks as I didn’t have the correct supplies and was so busy at work I wasn’t able to go out to the craft store on my lunch break, then last week, I wanted to enter but I had Andrew’s birthday to prepare for and we did a couple of things together during the week that he wanted to do.  I did have last Friday evening free and fully intended to make a card, photograph it and enter it at the last minute, but because of the weather I’ve had horrendous journey’s to and from work all week, quite often taking three times as long to either get to work, get home or sometimes both!  It was also very stressful driving, with lots of ice and snow and cars off in ditches or on the side of the road with a police car.  Basically, I was so pooped Friday night that I fell asleep on the sofa right after dinner and then went to bed at 9pm and slept all the way until 8am Saturday morning!  So sadly, no card for me.

But, here I am today, bright and early for the challenge, with my card.  We had a sketch to follow this week and it was a great one supplied by DT member Carole, I’ve printed it off and will put it in my folder as I’m sure I’ll use this one again.

And here’s my card.  I went all purple, flowery and Spring like as it’s so beautiful (not!) outside my craft room window.  Well, if it’s isn’t Springlike out there yet, it certainly is in here!  I’ve noticed I’ve been making cards in rather somber and elegant tones recently so I wanted to kick that right out of the window too!  Today’s card, and even yesterdays despite it being a Christmas card, are certainly very happy and cheerful.  And colourful too, just need the weather to co-operate a bit now as well.

The image is from the Micey Day clear set and I watercoloured as usual with a load of different inks.  Not sure what happened to the tag on the present though, perhaps a stray bit of embossing powder got in the way.  The paper is absolutely divine!  The purple backing paper is all sparkly and iridescent, but it doesn’t have a manufacturers name on it unfortunately; the DP is Lavender Rosebuds from Hot Off The Press.

The embossed background is the “Texture” folder for the Cuttlebug and I swiped blue and purple inks over it.  Came out quite well I thought.

The little Micey’s faces have actually got a bit of pink on them, they’re not grey like they appear to be on the photo!  This card is destined for the post in a few days time as my SIL in England has a birthday on March 15th, she also has too little girls aged five and six, so I’m sure they’ll get a kick out of this card too!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: The Paper Company ~ Unknown plain purple sheet
  • DP: Hot Off The Press
  • Stamp: Penny Black “Micey Day” ~ Sentiments were computer generated
  • Inks:  Way too many to mention, but mostly Memento dye ink and Colorbox Q Pigment
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Texture embossing folder ~ White gel pen ~ Decorative edge scissors ~ Pearls & Ribbon from Michaels ~ Flowers from Jolee’s By You (EK Success) ~ Clear embossing powder ~ Foam dots
