Just a really quick post this morning as I have to dash….. I made a card on Sunday night for my sister in law (don’t worry, she doesn’t know about this blog!).  She’s a hard person to make for and buy for too as she has very eclectic and artistic tastes, and sometimes, she likes things one year and then doesn’t like them anymore the next!  She’s a graduate of Winchester College of Art and knows exactly what she likes and doesn’t like and also doesn’t mind telling you!  The funny or ironic thing is though, when it comes to birthday cards at least, is that she didn’t use her art degree, she went into sales and marketing instead and now works for one of the top crafting and card making magazines out there!  So if anything, she should be right on top of all the latest trends and techniques and you think would at least be able to appreciate a hand made card!!  Doesn’t seem to have worked out that way though and hasn’t even been bitten by the bug of the industry she works in.  Oh well, takes all sorts I suppose!

So I made a Clean and Simple card along the lines of one I made in very early January:

It was getting on a bit in the day the the light was starting to fade.  I used the Scor-pal again, and two Inkadinkadoo sets “Flower Garden Inchies” for the little square flower and “Garden Flowers” for the sentiment .  I also used a MS edge punch and a few little pearls.  The inks were all from a Colorbox Q pigment stack  “Silks and Satins” and I used Royal Silk, Ruby Satin and Raw Silk.  And that was it, she can like it or not!!  A good friend of mine said this week that it doesn’t actually matter too much what the recipient thinks of a card, what’s important for my well being is that I enjoyed making it.  This one will most likely give more to me that the receiver, but that’s OK, I need to craft, it satisfies something deep within me and helps me relax and de-stress, and that’s just as important I think.

