Finally managed to get these other Christmas cards finished and photographed, although the light had by then departed and I had no alternative but to use the flash on them.  The only thing missing from them are a few pearls in the corners, I wanted something quite bright, but my blue and green ones are of a more pastel shade than bright, so I’ll wait and find the right ones….. it’s not like I’ll be needing them any time soon is it?  I’m not even convinced that the green one needs anything extra as the background paper is so busy, the blue one definitely needs a little extra oomph!

This green card uses paper from the DCWV Christmas 2009 stack, along with numerous snowflake stamps stamped with quite a variety of different inks.  I created the large snowflakes by using a MS punch and then colouring lightly with chalk ink before applying Stickles.  The sentiment stamp is from Hampton Art and I got it from the $1 bin at Michaels, it’s stamped with MS pigment ink in Bamboo and then clear embossed with a little more ink sponged on the paper.  The ribbon was also from Michaels.

The blue card is almost exactly the same, it uses DCWV Christmas Stack 2007, the same Snowflake stamps with various blue inks and Stickles on the snowflake punch.  The sentiment is a Recollections  one from the $1 bin at Michaels!  And the ribbon is again from Michaels.

I think I prefer the green one to the blue one, I’m liking these non-traditional colours for Christmas cards suddenly, let’s hope I still like them when it comes time to send them out!!

Recipe:

  • Card: The Paper Company
  • DP: DCWV
  • Stamps: Stamps: Inkadinkado “Warm Holiday Wishes” and “Snowflakes A-Plenty”~ Scrappy Cat “Snowflake Ormanent” ~ Sentiment Recollections (Michaels own brand) & Hampton Arts
  • Inks:  Too many to name!
  • Tools:  MS large snowflake punch ~ Lime Green and Waterfall Stickles ~ Pearls and ribbon from Michaels ~ Bow Easy ~ Clear embossing powder ~ Foam dots ~ Zots adhesive

************************************

Well ladies, we made it to the end of another week.  I must say that the weather has improved quite significantly here with most days this week being lovely and sunny.  It’s still a bit chilly at night (-6C) last night, but we’ve been getting up to 2C or 3C during the day, which coupled with the sunshine, is making it feel very Springlike.  The 10 day forecast is much the same, a little warmer even and not quite as cold at night.  Perhaps we’ve broken the back of winter finally.

I’ll be swimming on Saturday at the local High School pool, but apart from that I don’t think we have any plans…. hopefully we’ll be able to get out for a walk or something as well as spending some time in my craft room. I have also acquired a little more stash this week, so if I remember, I’ll take a photo tonight and join in with Paula for her New Stash Saturday post tomorrow… or course, Murphy’s Law dictates that she won’t have bought anything this week and therefore won’t post tomorrow!!

I also got our flights booked back to England last week so we need to get the rental car sorted out and a guest house in Sussex for when we visit my sister, I’m also really hoping I can get to The National Archives in Kew for a morning and finally get to see my 5 x Gt Grandfathers military records.   He says he was born in 1745 in Perth but I can’t find any record of him, and in order to join the British military as an officer back then you had to give them your birth certificate in order to prove loyalty to the Crown.  I’m hoping it’s still on the microfiche along with the rest of his records, he’s been a brick wall to me for almost three years!

Whatever your plans are for this weekend, I hope you have a fantastic one.

