Quite a quirky sketch from Carol this week, I was racking my brains to come up with something appropriate and either cute or funny, when I realised that I didn’t have to do either, the sketch would actually lend itself to anything.  Once I got that little stumbling block out of the way I actually went ahead and made two cards instead of one, but I’m only showing you the first card as the other one hasn’t seen the camera yet!

This was the sketch:

This is my card this week:

I had this stamp “Violets” still sitting on my desk from an earlier project and I was itching to use my Scorpal again.  On the inside it says “Happy Birthday.  Hope your day is filled with lots of moments to remember.”, and I’m going to be sending this one off back across the pond for my mam’s birthday in April.  The other card I made from this sketch is going to be for my nephews birthday which is also in April, so this sketch came in really handy!

I stamped directly on the card blank and then water coloured the image with pencils and a Zig water pen, I’ve been really getting into coulring images this way in the last week or two.

Recipe:

  • Card: White card blank
  • Stamps: “Violets” by Stampendous ~ Sentiment from a The Paper Company Studio clear set
  • Ink: Color Box Q “Royal Silk”
  • Tools: Scor-pal ~ Assorted water colour pencils ~ Zig water pen ~ Orange and purple gems from Michaels
