We had a great sketch to work from for this weeks challenge, I’ve printed it out and it will definitely be going in my folder for future use.  I decided to make a Mothers Day card, American Mother’s Day is coming up on 9th May and this is the one that we observe for our Mum’s.  The reason we do this is two fold, first for obvious reasons,  the English day is not on American calendar so unless I’m thinking about it in March and look up the date on the internet, I usually find out about it too late!  The second reason is that both of our Mum’s have another son and daughter each, so they receive flowers and gifts in March, and then, when they’ve forgotten all about it, they get flowers and gifts from us in May!  It’s usually a nice surprise for them.

I do have to say that I absolutely love how this card turned out, in fact, I love it so much I’m going to make a second one so both Mum’s will be getting one of these!  It doesn’t matter though as one lives in Cambridge and the other in Somerset so they’re not likely to get together and compare notes at any time soon!

The card uses quite a bit of my new stash (I had a bit of crafty retail therapy on Friday evening!).  The papers are from two new packs, the background is Making Memories, and the flowered paper and plain light blue are both from a new DCWV pack I picked up too.  The stamp is also new, and it’s my first none cute PB, I was torn between this one and a beautiful Maple Leaf branch in the store, but I’m glad I got this one in the end.

I generated the text on the computer, using two fonts and picking a colour as close to the embossed image as I could find.  I also decided to leave the card quite plain, with no extra embellishment apart from the twisted ribbon.  I think it works, and I got a thumbs up from Andrew too which is quite unusual!!

Recipe:

  • Card: 5 1/2 square card blank from The Paper Company
  • DP: DCWV Linen Closet ~ Making Memories Poolside and Greenhouse
  • Stamp: PB Lace Flower (3140H)
  • Inks: TH Antique Linen ~ Versamark ~ Martha Stewart
  • Embellies: Ribbon from Michaels ~ Yellow Stickles ~ Embossing powder from JoAnn’s
  • Tools: Computer ~ Marvy Punches ~ Foam dots
