Happy Friday everyone!  A couple of weeks ago I heard from the lovely Maria from Christmas Stampin All Year Long that I had won their challenge and that my prize was a Guest Designer Spot on an upcoming challenge.  After I picked myself up from the floor and got over the panic attack of going public with my cards, I do have to say I enjoyed working on this project immensely!  So thanks Maria for picking me!

The remit of the challenge was to use die cuts to create a card, and this also included the use of punches.  Or in my case, create a set of cards as I enjoyed it so much!  Please pop on over to the blog as the Design Team always create some beautiful and stunning cards.

So here are my cards, my design idea was to make use of the offcuts that usually get left behind and thrown away after we’ve punched out our shapes or snowflakes.  It struck me that these “reverse images” from the punches would make great little cards, and would save some wastage too.  I also thought that if these images could be punched out of a thicker card or even a light plastic, that they would also make great stencils too!

So first up a little group shot of all three together:

This one was my prototype, in hind sight I should have added a little colour around the edges as it’s a little plain, but this is the one that cemented my ideas and allowed me to produce the following two cards, which I think are the best two.  The punch out is backed with a little scrap of glitter paper which doesn’t show up too well on the photo but looks great IRL.  Oh and that little strip of red ribbon!  It was at the bottom of the drawer and was a bit creased so I ironed it!!!

This was card number two, in non traditional Christmas colours:

And this was the third and final card and is my favourite out of the three, as I’m really drawn to traditional colours for Christmas:

This one also uses to most amount of punches too at six!  There’s the corner rounder, the snowflake, the pine branch, two flower punches and a square punch for the sentiment that I trimmed into a rectangle instead!  Card Recipies follow.

Card One:

  • The Paper Company white card and card blank ~ DCWV Christmas Stack 2008 & Glitter card ~ MS Small snowflake punch ~ Fiskars Corner Rounder ~ Stickles Waterfall & Baby Blue ~ Sentiment by Stampendous from the Reindeer Swirls clear set ~ Stazon black ink, stamped off once ~ Ribbon and gems from stash

Card Two:

  • The Paper Company lilac card and card blank ~ Bazzil Plum card ~ DCWV Christmas Stack 2008 ~ EK Success Snowman punch ~ Marvy Uchida Scalloped punch ~ Fiskars Corner Rounder ~ Stamps Recollection clear set “Merry Merry” and Fiskars clear set “Winter Wonderland ” ~ Colorbox Q Pigment ink “Royal Silk” ~ Ribbon and gems from stash ~ Tsukineko black pen for doodling

Card Three:

  • The Paper Company white card and card blank ~ Bazzil red and green card ~ Recollections silver card ~ DCWV Christmas Stack 2009 ~ MS Large snowflake punch ~ EK Success five petaled flower punch, large and small ~ McGill Pine Branch punch ~ Marvy Sqare punch (cut into a rectangle for the sentiment) ~ Fiskars Corner Rounder ~ Paper Piercer ~ Hero Arts sentiment stamp ~  Tim Holtz Distress Ink Antique Linen ~ Button, ribbon and floss from stash

*************************************

Thanks very much for looking and don’t forget to hop over to the blog and check out the wonderful creations by the Design Team!

