Another first entry this week, that’s two so far, stopping the old CC production has really paid off!  More time for other things, including a bit of crafty stash buying as the beautiful new Hero Arts “Artistic Prints” are now available for purchase on this side of the pond….. just don’t tell Kath whatever you do!!

So, the Papertake Weekly Challenge is based on a sketch this week, and a rather good one it is too.  I wanted to use one of my new stamps and I also wanted to keep it very simple to allow the stamp to shine!  I love the way it came out so I stamped up a number of them in different two tone colours, but decided to go with the blue and purple theme to try and break my reluctance to use the colour blue!  No idea why I rarely use it, and I hadn’t really noticed that I wasn’t using it until this weekend either!

On to the card:

The lovely image is from the new HA set “Watercolor Petals” and I did exactly what it said on the packet and sprayed it with a fine mist of water before stamping it, to make the colours run and blend together a bit.  The inks were Memento Danube Blue, Grape Jelly and Cottage Ivy.  I then sponged and edged the panel with more Danube Blue, in fact, I edged all the pieces of paper in it, and the card blank, too.  The sentiment was embossed in Navy on white paper and then coloured with Memento Summer Sky, Lulu Lavender and Lilac Posies, it was also edged in Lilac Posies too.  The yummy papers are both DCWV.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: The Paper Company
  • DP: DCVW Linen Closet & Citrus Matstacks
  • Stamps: Hero Arts Watercolor Petals ~ The Paper Company Studio Playful Expressions
  • Inks: Memento Cottage Ivy, Danube Blue, Summer Sky, Grape Jelly, Lulu Lavender & Lilac Posies
  • Tools: Tsukineko Black Pen ~ Navy embossing powder ~ Blue gems from Michaels
