After two days of really quite persistent rain I’m feeling the joy today that a little bit of sunshine can bring as the clouds disperse!  Feel The Joy is also the title of this wonderful stamp duo from Unity Stamp Company, I bought it about a month ago but only inked it up at the end of last week.  Archivers have started carrying some of their range and I’m rather struck by the simple quirkiness of their designs, reminds me of modern American Folk Art.  I only have this one little set at the moment but it stamps so beautiful and looks so great that I’m sure it won’t stay a single collection for long!!

Anyway, you may recall last week that I made some more homemade DP, and at that time I also made a little embossed resist panel that I said I would turn into a card, so yesterday I sat down and did just that.  Here’s the photo from last week showing the panel I’d stamped at the top left:

And here’s my card:

The photography makes it look a little grey but we had such a dull, wet weekend it was impossible to get a really good shot.  I lightened it up a bit but didn’t want to mess about too much with the colours.  The image was stamped twice with Memento Lilac Posies and quickly clear heat embossed, you have to move very quickly as dye inks obviously dry really quickly!  I then sponged more Memento purple shaded inks on the card and then buffed up the embossed portion with a bit of paper towel to remove the excess ink.  Love how it came out.  I also direct sponged ink on to the card and then overstamped in Warm Violet, leaving a little clear space where I wanted to put the sentiment, which is stamped in the Lilac Posies again.    I had a lot of fun with this one, suppose you could say that I was Feeling The Joy!!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: 6 1/4 x 5 1/2″ card blank ~ Bazzil ~ The Paper Company
  • Stamps: Unity Stamp Co. Feel The Joy ~ Inkadinkado Dot Flourishes
  • Inks: Memento Lulu Lavender, Lilac Posies, Grape Jelly & Summer Sky ~ ColorBox Q Chalk Ink Warm Violet
  • Embellishments: Ribbon from Michaels
  • Tools: Fiskars corner rounder punch ~ Clear embossing powder
