I saw this wonderful technique on Friday on the Hero Arts blog using one of the new silhouette style stamps, which they then turned  into a fantastic little card that I thought I would love to have a go if I had the opportunity.  Well, I had the opportunity much sooner than I expected as we went to a friends house for a barbecue Friday night and I thought I could use this technique to make a little thank you card for the hosts.

There were ten of us in total (and a beautiful Golden Retriever puppy!) and we had a fantastic time, apart from the tornado siren going off towards the end of dinner that is!  We decided that discretion was the better part of valour and so packed everything up and retreated inside for dessert, where we watched another cracking thunderstorm.   At one point the sky was bright purple and the rain was lashing down (3/4″ in two hours), still, at least we’d managed the cooking and the eating of the main part of the meal outside.

So, on Saturday I set about to copy the card Jennifer had made on the Hero Arts Blog, and I absolutely adore it how it came out.  Basically you stamp in Versamark on white card and heat emboss before colouring in with your choice of medium (I used Distress Inks).  Obviously the beauty of the embossing means that it resists the ink and leaves you with a lovely reverse image:

This card is much more purple and much less blue IRL, but the camera had a hard time dealing with the colours for some reason, but you can still get the idea though.  The dotty piece was created with a Martha Stewart clear background set and was stamped in DI Dusty Concord on to purple card.  The card is actually the little piece on the front, so this won’t stand up on it’s own, but it could be pinned to a notice board or something.    Here’s a side view, so you can see what I mean:

And inside the little flap is where I shall write my note of thanks:

Isn’t this a great little card?  So bright and cheerful, I really enjoyed making it and shall probably be on the lookout for more silhouette style stamps.  I do love the HA Blog too, so many great ideas and inspiration, I never would have thought of doing this on my own!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: 7″ x 5″ Bazzil card ~ The Paper Company card in white and two shades of purple.
  • Stamps: Hero Arts Silhouette Flower Cling stamp ~ Martha Stewart clear background set ~ See-Ds Garden set (Thanks)
  • Inks: Distress Inks in Dusty Concord, Fired Brick, Worn Lipstick, Broken China & Peeled Paint ~ Versamark
  • Tools: Glacier White embossing powder ~ Zig water brush ~ Purple ric-rac from Michaels
