An alternative title for this would be Pink Loves Brown in Paris!  Or perhaps we should just call it for what it is, which is The Penny Black Saturday Challenge Wk 106.  And boy was this a challenge!  It sounded simple enough, make a card with a travel or holiday theme, trouble is I have very few PB stamps (despite the expanded collection!) and I was completely stuck for what to do as I couldn’t make any stamp I had fit the requirements.

But, help was at hand.  Last Thursday I ordered two of the new 2010 clear sets and three wood mounted  2010 stamps from the lovely Dick at PBStamps, who I know many of you have ordered from before, especially on the DT.  This was my first order with him and I have to say it absolutely won’t be the last.  Not only does Dick have an astounding range of stamps to chose from (including retired ones) but he also completely re-defines the term “customer service”.  I ordered my stamps around Noon on Thursday, by 1:10pm I had an invoice/confirmation email, 4:15pm saw my order shipped and they arrived at my door on Saturday, slightly over 48 hrs from placing my order!  Amazing.  Anyway, one of the new clear sets I’d chosen was “Flowers & Wishes” and in it is a really cute little postcard stamp, so now I had something to start from.

I created my own background again, this time playing around with the collage technique for the first time, and I have to hold up my hand and say in all honesty that the background doesn’t contain a single Penny Black, in fact most of it is Tim Holtz, another first for me as up until two weeks ago I didn’t own any of his stamp sets either, but with not one but two 50% off coupons for Michaels I picked up two of his clear sets.  The one used here is French Market, and I used three of the stamps to create the collage on pink paper, stamping two in DI Worn Lipstick (which I’m loving right now), and the third in Memento Chalk Ink Sahara Sand (who can resist pink and brown together?  Certainly not me!).  There is also a little Eiffel Tower from a Fiskars clear set, stamped in ColourBox Q Baby Pink and then clear heat embossed.  I also stamped off all of the Timmy images and used the second and third impressions to create the scene.  There’s a little more Sahara Sand and Worn Lipstick dabbed about for good measure and I also edged the piece with more Worn Lipstick.   I loved the way this came out so much, I took this picture of it before I placed the main images as I wanted a record of how it came out.  I have to admit to being rather proud of this little piece of card!

So, onto the card, and the addition of the PB stamps.

I stamped the postcard from the set on to white card stock in black and heat embossed it.  I then coloured it with DI Antique Linen, cut around it with decorative edge scissors and edged it with DI Vintage Photo.  The main flower image and the stamps were coloured with water colour pencils,  decoupaged the rose bloom on foam pads and added Yellow Stickles to the center.  I think I might go back and decoupage one of the little buds too, balance it up a bit, what do you think?

The sentiment is from the same clear set, stamped in black on a little piece of the backing and cut out with a scallop punch, the edges were then edged in Worn Lipstick.  The second brown scalloped circle is the smallest Nesties circle from the large circles die set (if that makes sense!)  and a few chocolate brown gems added for good measure.

The pink gems and the brown scalloped photo corner punched shapes finishes it off nicely without being too over powering.  I really love how this came out and I feel that I’m finally getting somewhere with my stamping at long last.  I’ve really enjoyed trying new things this year and challenging myself to try something different or outside of my comfort zone.  Let’s hope it’s not a fluke!!

One more photo before I go, a close up of the panel:

I had fully intended using the scallop scissors on the brown mat too, but if you look carefully at the pink layer at the top left you can see that the card is chewed up a bit.  My cheepo 99c scissors bit the dust and almost ruined my matting too!  I was so relieved I could salvage it and only a tiny bit ended up chewed!  Boy, that was a lot of waffle for one card wasn’t it!!  Better shut up now and go and link it otherwise they’ll be posting another challenge by the time I stop waffling!!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Pink card blank freebie from a UK magazine ~ The Paper Company white, pink and brown card stock
  • Inks: ColourBox Q Pigment Black & Baby Pink ~ DI Antique Linen, Worn Lipstick & Vintage Photo  ~ Memento Sahara Sand Chalk Ink
  • Stamps: Tim Holtz French Market ~ Fiskars Wish You Were Here ~ Penny Black Flowers & Wishes (30-047)
  • Embellies: Yellow Stickles ~ Gems from Michaels ~ Watercolour pencils
  • Tools: Nesties Scalloped Circles Die ~ Marvy Scalloped Circle Punch ~ EK Success Photo Corner Punch ~ Scalloped Scissors ~ Clear Embossing Powder ~ Foam Dots
