You saw most of this in Wednesdays WOYWW post, but this is the final card after everything was put together and a little bling was added!  Can’t have a card without bling now can we?  Even if it is a male birthday card!  The occasion is my FIL’s 76th birthday… so I hope the Time Flies connotation and the butterflies don’t make him think that time is ticking away!!   The simple truth of the matter is that I just don’t have typical mens images, so I go with the flow and use what I have.

Here’s the card, it’s a 6 1/2″ by 5″ gatefold, and I haven’t made one of these in such a long time.

The yummy paper is from Prima “Breathe”  5×7 pack which I got on clearance at Michaels for $2.49!  (Sorry Paula, more snagging of bargains!  I got its sister pack “Sasha” for 14c !!!)  On the right flap I clear embossed a little flower/weed image from Tim Holtz Flights of Fancy stamp set and then sponged round it a bit with Spiced Marmalade and Vintage Photo, not sure if this works or not but I didn’t want the panel to be bare when the card was open.

The lovely image is Time Flies from Inkadinkado, a wood mounted collage stamp, which I embossed in brown on to cream card stock.  I then stamped and embossed a second large butterfly to act as a focal point, and coloured it in with Whispers markers and Crystal Stickles.  It’s central body is the only bit stuck down which allowed me to curl the wings up a little bit for some dimension, and I added little gems along the body too.  The panel was roughly torn in to shape and then DI Vintage Photo was applied to the edges.

I added a few more gems to the corners on the left panel and a little bit of chocolate organza ribbon to the right panel.  On the inside I stamped the flower/weed from Flights of Fancy along with a few butterflies, a Happy Birthday sentiment stamp and a little scrap of the Prima paper.

I’m entering this card in to the following challenges:

Elephantastic Cards & Crafts Challenge Blog is a brand new challenge and this is their first week, they have an open theme.

Caardvarks want to see a Birthday Card.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: The Paper Company
  • DP: Prima Breathe collection
  • Stamps: Inkadinkado Time Flies ~ Tim Holtz Flights of Fancy ~ Hampton G Sentiment
  • Inks: Memento Sahara Sand & Brilliance Copper ~ DI Spiced Marmalade & Vintage Photo ~ Versamark
  • Embellies: Ribbon & embossing powder from JoAnns ~ Gems from Michaels ~ Crystal Stickles
  • Tools: Whispers Markers ~ Heat gun ~ Scorpal
