Yay!  I was a little surprised to receive an invitation to become a guest bar tender at Raise The Bar for this weeks challenge from site owner Joni!  Why, you may ask?  Well, I entered this challenge on a whim last week as I had a card that would fit and I thought it was bragging rights only if you won kind of thing, you know, a little badge to put on your blog!  But it turned out to be a guest DT Spot if you won, and guess who won?  Right, me!  I was one of  five people picked last week when the theme was  “Colours of your Flag”, I’d entered my red white and blue Penny Black card that I posted here on July 8th.

So, on to this weeks challenge.  It’s a wedding theme, for all those summer weddings coming up, but you also had to work in the old saying of “Something old, something new, something borrowed and something blue” in your creation; and here’s my card:

A close up of the centre panel.

I coloured the main image with watercolour pencils and then stickled each flower to within an inch of its life!  I can assure you that there are equal amounts of stickles on each tier of the cake, even though the bottom tier looks sadly lacking for some reason!  The cake stand was coloured with a ColorBox Metallic Silver pigment ink so it has some shine IRL.  Even the little bride and groom got a little Stickles love, it is their wedding day after all and what girl doesn’t want to look all bright and sparkly on her big day??

And this is how I broke the challenge down:

Something OLD:  That would be the Martha Stewart Doily Lace punch, the very first punch I bought back when I had no clue what to do with it!  I’ve had it forever and haven’t used it recently so I thought it would be perfect for this.

Something NEW: Well, the Inkadinkado clear stamp set was only bought five days before I sat down and made this card so that counts as new.  The set is called  Sending Wishes  and the irony of it is that I almost didn’t buy it as I loved the images but had absolutely no use for the wedding cake, and as it’s the largest image in the set it really made me think about buying it!  And guess which was the first stamp to be inked up and used?  Yep, the wedding cake!!

Something BORROWED:  Joni said this could be also something recycled so the lace trim fits the bill as it came off a pair of sheer curtains when I was home in England in May, and it was also given to me, or rather I nabbed it from my mams stash, so perhaps that should be Something STOLEN!!!

Something BLUE: This is the easy one as I incorporated a piece of blue card in to the design, but if you also look closely at that beautiful diamond “crystal” brad you’ll see that it’s also a very pale blue

Thanks Joni!  I did have fun and you gave me the opportunity to use a stamp I thought I wouldn’t have a need for!

***************************************************************************************

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Recollections card base ~ DCWV Bazzil type card ~ The Paper Company
  • DP: Prima
  • Stamp: Inkadinkado clear set Sending Wishes
  • Ink: ColorBox Q Black Pigment ink & Metallic Silver ~ Martha Stewart ink
  • Embellies: Lace from stash ~ Crystal Stickles – Prima Flower ~ Making Memories brad
  • Tools: Water colour pencils ~ Zig Water Brush ~ MS Doily Lace punch ~ Clear embossing powder

