If you’ve been following this blog for a little while you might have noticed a couple of things in the card making department recently…. the first being a relatively new love of making my own background paper which has morphed in to using collage to make my own background paper… and the second is a blinding love of the emboss resist technique, so it was obvious really that it wouldn’t take me very long to put the two of them together!

I got a lovely new wood mounted Inkadinkado stamp last week called Botanical Script so I started playing about with it at the weekend.  It was a great candidate for emboss resist so I made up a few embossed panels and started colouring them in.  I’d first embossed it in black but thought it looked incredibly stark and just too black, so I embossed it again in a light black (Stampology Onyx) and was happily colouring it in when I realised that it just wasn’t popping out at me, so after playing around a bit more I went back to the original black image and coloured it in just to see what it looked like, and boy did it look good?!  It was exactly the look that I wanted and I wondered why I’d put it too one side in the first place!

The next challenge was finding a bit of DP to match the vintage panel I’d created but after pulling out just about all the paper I own and not being at all happy with any of the choices I went back to my stamps and made a little collage piece, this is it before I covered most of it up with the main stamped panel I’d made!  Do excuse the cock-eyed photography won’t you!!!

There’s a bit of Timmy in here (Flights of Fancy & French Market, along with a Recollections set Formal Esque.  I decided after I made this that I wasn’t keen on the two brighter butterflies so I managed to place the main image in such a way that they were covered up!  The inks were TH Dusty Concord and Worn Lipstick, Memento Lilac Posies, Lulu Lavender, ColourBox Ruby Satin and Stazon Jet Black.

Here’s a close up of the main panel:

It was created with Memento inks, a finger dauber and Tsukineko Fantastix, which are little pencil shaped tight rolls of paper (I think), which are shaped in a point like a pencil to allow you to colour in small items (the butterfly in this case).  Normally I use these little sticks with chalks but I thought I’d see how they worked with inks and they did an excellent job.  In hind sight I think there’s a little bit too much green on this image, I should have kept it closer to the stem, but overall I’m very happy with the way it came out.  I tore around the edges and inked them with Memento Summer Sky and Lulu Lavender, which are the same colours I used to on the Hydrangea blossoms.  The leaves and stem is Memento New Sprout and the butterfly is Lilac Posies.  Sahara Sand colours the main panel and I also added Lavender Stickles to the blossoms.

The sentiment panel uses my new Nesties Deckle Edged Rectangles, Lulu Lavender and Lilac Posies ink and a sentiment from a clear Inkadinkado/Brenda Walton set called Flower Garden, stamped in Jet Black Stazon.  The ribbon was from Michaels and the gems are Me And My Big Ideas, also bought at Michaels.

And one last photo…. I raised both the main panel and the sentiment on little foam pads.  I got these when I was home in May and they’re about half the thickness of the ones I can get in America, I really like having the choice to raise something up a little way or to raise it up even further now!!  Little things I know!!!

I’m entering this card in to The Stamp Man’s first challenge, which is an open theme for this week.  Wish me luck!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: 6″ x 5 1/2″ card blank ~ Recollections textured card ~ The Paper Company
  • Stamps: Inkadinkado Botanical Script & Flower Garden ~ TH French Market & Flights of Fancy ~ Recollections Formal-Esque
  • Inks: Memento Sahara Sand, Lulu Lavender, Lilac Posies & Summer Sky ~ TH Dusty Concord & Worn Lipstick ~ ColourBox Ruby Satin ~ Stazon Jet Black ~ Versamark
  • Embellies: Lavender Stickles ~ Ribbon from Michaels ~ Gems from Me And My Big Ideas
  • Tools: Nesties Deckle Edge Rectangles ~ Cuttlebug ~ Sponge daubers ~ Tsukineko Fantastix ~ Black embossing powder (JoAnns)
