Here we are folks, Wednesday once again!  Hope you’re all fit and happy and have had a great week since I last saw you here!  As you can probably tell I’m in a completely different mood this time round!  Stuff at work has sorted itself out, I had a lovely mooch around the library at the end of last week and picked up some new reading material, I’ve found time to make a card or two, been to my favourite (and local) air display, worked in my garden and planted some more summer flowers (phlox) and had a lovely sunshiney bike ride!  All of these things cheered me up no end.

So, my desk this week…. bad photo taken later in the evening (aren’t the evenings drawing in quicker now!) than I’d intended and the lights were on.

I was working on a House Mouse card for a little friend of mine, 10 yr old Hailey, who had open heart surgery last Thursday!  She’s doing well, out of Intensive Care and should be coming home this week.  Also on the desk is one of my many ribbon holders that my husband made for me, the pink folder contains sketches, the Bug is out as I cut out the HM image and the blue tin contains my Bug plates and folders.  The other tin on the right contains my stamped HM images, the lovely Paula sent me some new ones the other week so I keep them in here, it’s a really sweet little tin.  She came all the way from Kyoto in Japan,  here’s a look at the outside:

I have another one of these in lime green, in fact I have a rather large collection of Japanese tins and paper boxes.  Some of them are absolutely stunning, incredible works of art in their own right.  I come by them from colleagues at work who visit our head offices in Japan on a fairly frequent basis, the tins usually contain Japanese sweets and treats but I tend to be more interested in the packaging than the actual contents!  Maybe I’ll show some of them to you one day.  The blue one above is also from Japan, I have three of those and one red one in the same style, they’re great for storing stash in.

And for those of you who popped by last week and were wondering how I worked the screaming two year old in to a card, here’s my brothers 50th birthday card for tomorrow:

Not an original idea, I’ve seen the use of petulant children before on adult cards, especially milestone ones, but I really fell in love with this image from Mo Manning and had to give it a go!  The papers are all DCWV, the plain card is Bazzil, the base is kraft and I coloured the image with pencils and added one little brad for embellishment.  The sentiment was generated on the computer.  And I can tell you that for the first time ever, I’ll be glad I’m 3700 miles away from him when he opens this up on Thursday!!!

And if I may indulge you with one more photo…. this is from the airshow we were at last weekend.  I love war birds, absolutely adore them, give me  pistons and a prop any day of the week!  I was more than a little bit chuffed to have my photo taken with the flight crew of a B17 Flying Fortress bomber, and not just any B17 either.  This beautiful old lady is a movie star.  This is none other than The Memphis Belle from the 1990 movie of the same name (brilliant movie by the way you need to watch it!).  The Memphis Belle is perhaps the most famous of the B-17’s, stationed at Bassingbourn in Cambridgeshire during WWII,  she flew a record 25 missions into enemy territory and brought her crew back safely each and every time, completely unheard of.  The original plane is at the National Air Force Museum in Dayton, Ohio undergoing full restoration, I hope to go and see her in person one day but for now I’ll take the movie star version and her wonderfully dressed up crew, who must have been absolutely melting wearing leather and sheepskin when it was 84F out!

Head on over to Julia’s for the start of your WOYWWing viewing pleasure, there’s a link over there on the right in the side bar.  Off to visit some desks!  Have a wonderful week peeps.

