Although it’s really only one card, but I just happen to be entering it to two Penny Black Challenge blogs!  I haven’t made a card in ages so it felt really good to be getting busy in the craft room and going to bed with ink on my fingers again!  I think the last card I made was back in August for my brothers birthday!  Way too long.

First up Penny Black Saturday Challenge set us a colour challenge this week of PURPLE, CREAM and BROWN! Not really sure if you can see than middle colour but it’s cream!  Not an easy combo but I really liked how the card came out, I thought it might look a bit odd but I think they’re really nice together.  I chose to make a Christmas Card and used my new PB stamp I picked up on holiday at the end of August, it stamped and embossed beautifully.

The second challenge is Penny Black at Allsorts and they want to see the use of punches on your card.  I have one Spellbinders die cut and two snowflakes made with a MS punch so I hope that suffices!  Here’s the card:

Wanna hear a funny story?  I used ColourBox Q Pigment ink for the main image and also to add a bit of colour around the edges of the panel.  Well this particular pigment ink takes an age to dry so I decided to help it along with the heat gun, only I’d already put the organza ribbon on!  You can guess what’s coming next as nylon and really hot heat just don’t mix….. so I had to put a new bit of ribbon on it!  Dozy mare or what??

Card Recipe:

  • Card: 6 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ cream card blank ~ The Paper Company cream card
  • DP: DCWV 2009 Christmas Stack
  • Stamp: PB Joyeux Noel 3989K
  • Ink: ColourBox Q Royal Silk Pigment Ink
  • Embellies: Lavender Stickles ~ Chocolate Organza ribbon from JoAnn
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Nesties Long Rectangular Dies ~ MS Snowflake Punch ~ Clear Embossing Powder
