Another card, this time for the fortnightly House Mouse Monday Challenge.  I love these little meeces and their friends the Gruffies and Happy Hoppers, although this little Happy Hopper is doing more lazing around than hopping around!

I’ve been in the very fortunate position to expand my little collection by about 600% in the last few weeks, firstly I discovered quite by accident that JoAnns were now stocking House Mouse online and I stumbled across this amazing piece of info when all stamps were 40% off and there was free shipping too!  Seemed rather rude not to take advantage of an offer like that!  Then last week Hobby Lobby’s weekly sale included 50% off all wood mounted stamps so a slight detour was made after work and another few stamps followed me home!  And last but by no means least, I’ve been swapping stamped images with two lovely ladies in England, so I’ve received two fantastic packets of stamped images that I don’t own and I’ve also reciprocated and sent packages back to the UK too.  My husband likes this last arrangement best, he thinks that swapping images with other people is going to save me money by not having to buy the stash myself!!  Oh silly, silly boy!!!

Anyway, I inked up this lovely Happy Hopper for the very first time, and wouldn’t this be a wonderful way to while away a few hours?  But knowing me I’d nod off and spill that drink all over me!  He looks like he’s having a good time though and it made me smile.  The challenge for this period is too include water in your image or on the card, and this can be interpreted as you wish with papers, water colour techniques or the image you chose.  I’ve gone for a number of options as I used water colour pencils on a watery image and I even managed to sneak in the Fiskars punch Threading Water!

I also decoupaged the little ducky and the cocktail, which you can see better in this photo.  There’s also a bit more colour to the water IRL, the sky has come out darker than the water on the photo but it’s actually the other way around!  The lovely image is called Bunny Cruise, and so was absolutely perfect for the challenge.  The paper is all DCWV, some from the Summer Dreams stack so that was incredibly appropriate too as he’s definitely enjoying a little summer time R & R!

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Freebie from a UK craft magazine ~ The Paper Company card stock
  • DP: DCWV Summer Dreams paper and Citrus orange card
  • Ink: Black Stazon ~ Memento Sahara Sand
  • Stamps: Happy Hoppers “Bunny Cruise” ~ Sentiment from a Fiskars set
  • Embellies: Gems from Recollections (Michaels own brand)
  • Tools: Water colour pencils ~ Fiskars Threading Water punch ~ Marvy Uchida Circle and Scalloped Circle punches ~ Whispers Dark Blue Pen ~ Foam dots

******************************************************************************************************************************

And I have a question for all you HM addicts who might pop in here, especially the DT members….. Some of my new stamps are quite large and I’m having a terrible time trying to get a good stamped image!  They keep ghosting or fading out in a corner, or along an edge.  I’ve stamped large images from other brands before without a problem so I’m at a loss as to what I’m doing wrong, I’ve even placed a large book on the stamp and have pressed down carefully on that in case I’m not applying even pressure on the stamp.  It almost looks like the ink is drying slightly before the image hits the paper so I’m considering stamping the large ones in pigment to see what happens.  I’m using Stazon ink BTW.  Does anyone have any advice to share about cleanly stamping these larger images?

