Happy Monday Peeps! Are you all happy to be back at work after a lovely weekend, lol! I had a great time in my little crafty room, it (finally) rained Saturday afternoon and evening so that’s where I was happy to be, staying warm and dry and creating like crazy. Sunday was a beautiful day and we went for a nice walk through the woods behind us, did a little gardening and then it was back in the craft room again for a few more hours, I had such a lot of fun, a perfect weekend.

So here’s another card for you. My favourite challenge, and in fact, the first challenge I ever submitted a card for was the Penny Black Saturday Challenge way back last November, and being a huge fan of Penny Black stamps I try not to miss this one. The challenge this week was to make a card for those men or boys in your life! Never an easy one that, I have to admit, I usually leave those until the last minute possible in the hope that inspiration will strike, rarely happens! I was still in a Christmas mood so decided to carry on with that theme. I was surprised how quickly this card came together and for the first time I think I’ve made a male card that I actually like!

Not sure what you call this style of card, I cut 1 1/2″ off the card front, put the second DP on the inside of the card blank and overlapped the image and the cut down card front.  Haven’t done this before but I think it works very well for this particular combo.  The lovely papers absolutely make this card in my opinion, they really pull it all together and they were freebies off a UK card magazine (Crafts Beautiful I think) that I was given when I was in England back in May.  The sweet image is from the Penny Black Holly Jolly clear set and the sentiment came from a Recollections (Michaels own brand) clear set.  I coloured the image with pencils and highlighted the tree, the baubles and the star with Fiskars Glitter Pens but that doesn’t really show up, it’s quite glittery IRL.  The little brads are also from Recollections and they were still sitting on my desk as they were new last week, they’re actually Fall colours but I thought they went really well with the overall scheme.  The edges of everything were coloured with the aptly named Memento Gingerbread chalk ink.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Recollections card blank ~ Bazzil “Twig”
  • DP: Free from Crafts Beautiful magazine
  • Stamps: Penny Black Holly Jolly ~ Recollections Merry, Merry
  • Inks: Stazon Black ~ Memento Gingerbread ~ Colourbox Q Silk Green Pigment
  • Embellies: Fiskars Glitter Pens ~ Pencils ~ Brads from Recollections
  • Tools: Cropodile ~ Foam Dots

***************************************************************************************************************

I’m also entering this card in a couple more challenges:

Christmas Stamping All Year Long want to see the use of brads and/or eyelets on your card this week, that’s why I’ve got 9 brads on a Christmas card!   This is a great Christmas Challenge that I was taking part in earlier in the year, I was actually one of their guest designers too this year, so it’s nice to be back!

Stamp Something want to see Spots and Stripes on your creation this week.  I think this qualifies with the papers, the brads and at a push, even the round baubles!

