A big day for me here in blog land, I’ve decided to throw my hat in the ring with the masters of all things crafty by entering a couple of challenges I would normally consider to be way out of my league.  Yes, I’m putting my big girl panties on today and joining in not only with Simon Says Stamp, but the Hero Arts Flikr Group and a couple of other big name challenge blogs, and yes, I am quaking in my boots!

So, without further ado I shall just present my card in the normal way and give you a quick rundown in the normal way too.  Good lord, just how hard can it be???!!

The card was definitely created with Fall/Thanksgiving in mind.  I love Fall, my absolute favourite time of the year, but because I don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in the way my American friends and colleagues do I decided to tone it down a bit.  The main stamp does have words like Thanks and Gratitude on it but I chose to use a sentiment based more on celebrating Fall than an outright celebration of  Thanksgiving.  The lovely main stamp is from Hero Arts and is called Scattered Leaf Border, there are two other stamps sets in use, The Paper Company Studio Autumn Harvest used for the sentiments and the acorn inside, and a Hampton Arts clear set Carpe Diem used for the flourish on the front.

The center panel was stamped using Memento Fluid Chalk inks.  I first used Gingerbread then stamped off a couple of times and inked again with Sage and used that impression here; the center leaf was stamped separately in Brick Red chalk ink and decoupaged with foam dots.  The panel was also edged in Brick Red and then mounted on green and red Bazzil card.

The main panel was edged in Red Brick and mounted to The Paper Company Bazzil type card.  The sentiment was also stamped in Brick Red and the flourish was Memento Dye Ink New Sprout.  A few orange gems from Michaels finished it off.  I love the saying, I think it reminds us to cherish and enjoy every day as in reality, they are quite brief.  Before we know it winter will be here, Christmas and then it’ll be another New Year and we’ll all be sitting around going “Wow, I can’t believe how fast this year went!”…… so please, take the time to enjoy it and be grateful for every day.  I have no idea who Mr Gibson is who is responsible for the lovely quote, but I suspect it’s not Mel!!

Inside is really simple with Green bazzil, cream card from The Paper Company and a sentiment and acorn decoration from the same TPC Studio set that I used for the front.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Recollections brand from Michaels ~ Bazzil ~ The Paper Company
  • Stamps: Hero Arts Scattered Leaf Border ~ TPC Studio Autumn Harvest  ~ Hampton Arts Carpe-Diem
  • Inks: Memento Fluid Chalk Inks Brick Red, Sage, Gingerbread ~ Memento Dye Ink New Sprout
  • Embellies: Gems from Michaels
  • Tools: Foam Dots

And so on to the challenges.  I’ll mention Hero Arts first as the main stamp is theirs, they don’t have a challenge blog per se, instead they have a large group on Flikr and you submit photos to their current challenge by tagging it with a specific name so they can find it and take a look.  They also leave comments over there on Flikr too rather than on the individual blogs.

Second is the amazing Simon Says Challenge Blogs.  There’s quite the blog hop going on right now with some stunning prizes, including a grand prize of $100 to spend in their store.  Both Simon Says Challenge blogs are running the same challenge and the theme is a Holiday Fun, so either Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas etc.  I hope my celebration of Fall can be included too as it’s almost a Thanksgiving card, lol!  The hop starts on Simon Says Stamp And Show and finishes on Simon Says Challenge.  Along the way you’ll visit the 20 blogs of the combined DT members to collect part of the code needed to enter, and they each have blog candy too, so what are you waiting for???

Next up is Allsorts, another challenge in the big league as far as I’m concerned!!  I’ve never entered here before but I have entered the Penny Black at Allsorts Challenge before.  They want to see the colours of Autumn, so I’ve got that covered at least.

Another blog also with an Autumnal theme  is Paper Play Challenges, yet another new one for me and another first time entry too.  Their theme is Autumn Is Comin’, and they have some lovely DT samples to inspire you on their blog.

And last but certainly by no means least, is Crafty Cardmakers.  This challenge blog is huge in the UK and they get loads of superb entries.  Their current challenge is for something Clean and Simple, which is a style that I absolutely adore, so I definitely kept that in mind when I was making this card.

Yep.  Definitely time for the big girl panties!!  Wish me luck.

