Time for another Penny Black Saturday Challenge, this time we had a sketch to work with from the lovely Joey, I forgot to grab it to show you here but you can see it if you hop on to their blog.  I decided to ink up Fantasy for the first time and absolutely loved it!  Isn’t that always the way?  You think, that’s not going to be great and keep putting it back in the stamp drawer, at least that’s what I did…. and then I inked and embossed it and it immediately became my new favourite stamp!  And it’s versatile too, it can be used for any season really depending what embellishments you put with it.  I liked it so much that I’ve stamped and embossed it twice more, once in gold on blue for another Christmas card and also in copper on cream for an Autumn themed card.

Anyway, I made another Christmas card this time round, by stamping and embossing the tree in silver on blue card.  I also used a Zig embossing pen to emboss around the image too, and then realised just how big it actually was when I went to fit it on the card I’d prepared and found it absolutely swamped it!  So I had to make another, bigger card base and put the smaller one to one side for something else!

I added a little bit of red to all the blue to bring it out a bit, not 100% sure about the red snowflakes though, and I really kicked myself for not embossing the JOY sentiment too, I think it would have stood out better.  But I do really like how the tree came out, I accented it with a few little red dots of Stickles.  The papers are from three different sources, the backing piece is from a pad free on a UK craft magazine, the front piece is DCWV 2008 Christmas Stack and is mounted on to silver mirri card, and the smallest piece is Brenda Walton for K & Co.

Card Recipe:

  • Card Stock: The Paper Company
  • DP: Freebie from UK craft magazine ~ K & Co ~ DCWV – Silver Mirri card from Michaels
  • Stamps: PB Fantasy 3880K~ See-D’s Whimsy Trees
  • Inks: Versamark ~ ColorBox Q Pigment Merlot
  • Embellishments: Stampendous Silver EP ~ Xmas Red & Fruit Punch Stickles ~ Gems from Michaels~ MS Snowflake Punch
  • Tools: Heat Gun ~ Zig Embossing Pen
