A cute little Christmas card for you today, well I think it’s cute!  Over at the Penny Black Saturday Challenge this week they want to see a card that’s not square so I dug out my large deckle edged rectangular Nesties and cut out a rectangular card from an ordinary card blank.  I had in mind to use Snow Squad, which is quite a large stamp, and I thought this challenge would fit it perfectly as it’s a little difficult to use well, being a large rectangle it doesn’t lend itself too well to many cards.

I coloured my image with my trusty pencils and lashings of glitter and Stickles!  The lovely sentiment is a freebie from Lynne at a great site called Sentiments 4 You, she makes wonderful sentiments to buy, and also offers a freebie once a week, this one was from a couple of weeks ago, pop over and have a look at the lovely things she has.

You might guess from the photo that I was having a little difficulty with the lighting conditions!  The perils of working for a living I’m afraid, I have to take what I can get when I get home from work!  I used Waterfall Stickles on the bears bobble hat, and the snowman got a little Frosted Lace down his left side, Xmas Red for his buttons, Yellow on his nose and finally some Lavender on his hat, which I decoupaged for good measure.

The falling snow is Crystal Stickles, which always manages to come out looking green in photos!,  and the snow on the ground is a Martha Stewart glitter called Carrera Marble.  I resized the sentiment, cut it out with a scalloped punch , popped it up on foam dots and added a single gem to the center of the numbers.  Shame the light wasn’t too good as this little card is really quite cute IRL.

I shall also be entering this card into the challenge over at Anything Goes as they want to see a Christmas Project.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Recollections card blank cut to shape with a Nestie
  • Stamp: PB Snow Squad
  • Embellies: Coloured pencils ~ MS Glitter ~ Various Stickles ~ Gem from Michaels ~ Sentiment from Sentiments 4 You
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Large Deckle Edged Rectangular Nestie ~ Foam dots ~ Marvy Uchida Scalloped circle punch
