This time last year I was still busy churning out Christmas cards, this year for some reason, I’m really happy to move on to something else.  I haven’t made Valentines/Love type of cards before unless it was for a specific occasion like a friends wedding, so I thought it would be nice to try my hand at a Valentines type card, though as it doesn’t say Happy Valentine I suppose you could use it any time you want a nice lovey card!

The Penny Black @ Allsorts crew would like us to take inspiration from The Beatles song “All You Need Is Love” and interpret it as you wish.  I love flowers, especially floppy headed flowers like this one!  It’s supposed to be a Poppy but reminds me more of one of those frilly tulips or a peony flower head than a Poppy, but no matter, it’s still a beautiful stamp.  It’s also a bit Valentine-ish with the colour combination and the sentiment, it’s definitely a card for someone you love.

It’s a very simple card as you can see, which makes it all the more striking in my opinion.  I think I overdosed on over embellished, glittery cards at Christmas time, this is like a breath of fresh air!  Here’s a closer view of the card center and that yummy ribbon, and regular readers of this blog know my ribbon fetish only too well!

Which is probably just as well really as I discovered a fantastic ribbon site called Really Reasonable Ribbons (there’s a link over on the side bar), who not only sell loads of scrummy and incredibly priced ribbon but also have a challenge blog too!  So I’m also entering this card over there also, they always want to see some ribbon/fibres on your project and this time round they also want to see some new stash.  That was easy to  do as the stamp, the Nesties dies and the embossing folder were all Christmas presents and are all getting their first outing on this card.  I coloured the stamp with Fired Brick and Peeled Paint Distress Inks and also a little bit of Memento Brilliance Cottage Ivy, misted it with water before stamping on to water colour paper.  The little sentiment is a clear Inkadinkado stamp and was attached to a wedding cake, so I cut it off to make it more usable!  I cut the image and the red backing piece out with my new Nesties and then used the new Swiss Dots embossing folder on the red piece.  Tied the ribbon round and made the bow with the Bow Easy, and that was it, not a speck of glitter in sight!!

Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels card blank ~ The Paper Company red card ~ Canson Watercolour paper
  • Stamps: Penny Black Poppy 3137K~ Inkadinkado Sending Wishes
  • Inks: Fired Brick & Peeled Paint DI ~ Memento Brilliance Cottage Ivy ~ Versafine Black
  • Embellies: Ribbon from JoAnn – Swiss Dots embossing folder
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Nesties Dies Curved Rectangles~ Bow easy

 

**********************************************************

 

Challenges:

Penny Black @ Allsorts – Song inspiration “All You Need Is Love”

Really Reasonable Ribbons Ramblings – Ribbon plus new crafting stash

Flourishes Timeless Tuesday – Use Flowers

Paper Sundaes – Are also looking for something new

Creative Cottage – Something New

Drunken Stampers – Something NEW

Order of the Opus Gluei – It’s A NEW Year, Baby!

