Back again with another card, I don’t think I’ve ever produced so diverse  bunch of cards of cards in such a short space of time before.  I’ve only made three cards this year so far and they’re just about as far away in style and technique from each other than you can possibly get!  I think that’s why I always hate it when someone asks me to define my style or pick my favourite technique, because it’s basically whatever mood strikes me at the time.

I have a cute little House Mouse card for you today, which might be destined for friends of ours who are expecting their very first baby in February, I only say might because they have opted not to know the sex, so I’ll be back at some point with a girly card, as this one is most definitely for a boy, and I’m going to need one of each just in case!

I’ve never actually made a baby card before, but I had three House Mouse images that I thought could easily be adapted for a new baby.  I also had to be creative with the sentiment too, it’s from a Kanban set that I bought in England in May of last year when I was home.  Anything I had with plain old Congratulations on was just too large and I had nothing to welcome a new baby and no time today to generate my own sentiment on the computer.  But in the end I think it worked out very well.  If I end up using this card for the new parents I’ll make a nice insert on the computer for the inside.

The paper is from a new stack I got before Christmas from DCWV simply called Winter and although I’ve had the HM stamp for a good six months, this was actually it’s first outing, so that works in well with a challenge I want to enter called Sketch & Stash, where every two weeks they have a new sketch for you to follow and you’re also supposed to use any new or neglected stash you might have.  This card is using their current sketch and I have both new and neglected stash getting an airing.

The other challenge this is for is the House Mouse and Friends one where they want to see New Beginnings, so new baby, new house, new year etc.  They also have a great blog hop going on so if you want to be in with a chance at some wonderful prizes hop on over and take a look!  And a final challenge is Crafty Emma’s where they want to see All Creatures Great & Small

Card Recipe:

  • Card Blank: Free from a UK magazine
  • Card Stock: The Paper Company
  • DP: DCWV WInter ~ Making Memories An English Garden
  • Stamps: House Mouse Cozy Shoe ~ Kanban Spring Silhouettes
  • Inks: Versafine Black ~ Memento Danube Blue
  • Embellies: Prima Flower ~ Gems from Michaels ~ Water colour pencils ~ Black pen ~ Baby Blue Stickles (little bit on the shoe)
  • Tools: Zig Aqua Brush ~ Scalloped Nesties ~ Cuttlebug ~ EK Success & Marvy Uchida Round Punches ~ Fiskars Threading Water Border Punch
