The first one of 2011!  I resisted as long as I could, it’s actually almost a month since I last made one so I thought it was about time to get out the glitter and the Christmas paper!  I’ve been trying to finish this card most nights this week but either something has conspired against me or I was feeling a bit too tired, there’s loads of sickies at work so I really hope I don’t come down with anything.  I’d intended to enter it into the first Bah Humbug challenge of the year, which was to use either a fairy, holly or both, but I went and missed the deadline!  Still, there’s other challenges out there that I’ll enter it in, list at the end as usual.

I thought this card was looking a little funky when I was putting it together but I really like how it turned out.  The lovely image is of course a House mouse one, called All Wrapped Up, it was stamped for me by Penni when we swapped some images in the summer, so it was actually a freebie.  I coloured it mainly with pencils, but also used marker pens for the bows as I wanted them quite a bit brighter than the pencils would have been, I then added coordinating Stickles to each one too.  Oh and while we’re on the subject of glitter…. see all that snow?  Well I used a cheap (not Stickles) sparkly glitter glue but there was too much glue and not much glitter, so I went to sprinkle on a bit of Martha course glitter…. and dropped the pot!!  So the poor meeces look like they’re sitting in a snow bank IRL!!  I edged both main panels with DI Vintage Photo and the card base in Worn Lipstick.  The lovely paper is all shimmery, it’s by Heidi Grace for Fiskars, but then of course I went and covered most of it up!!  The snowflakes were cut with my new Sizzlet’s snowflake die set that I got for Christmas, from glitter card stock, and I dabbed over them with DI Bundled Sage.  The little glittery Holly stickers were in my stash and were supposed to help tie it in to the Bah Humbug holly theme, but as I’ve said, silly me managed to miss the deadline!  The sentiment was from a See-D’s stamp set, it’s supposed to be stamped as one, with the words sitting above each other in a block but I managed to stamp them individually directly on the image, the mices expressions seemed to tie in well with each of the sentiments.

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Blank from Michaels
  • DP: Fiskars Holly Stripe ~ DCWV Tis the Season 2010 stack ~ Michaels Glitter Paper
  • Stamps: House Mouse All Wrapped Up ~ See-D’s Whimsy Christmas
  • Inks: DI Vintage Photo, Bundled Sage & Worn Lipstick ~ Memento Brilliance Pearlescent Ivy
  • Embellies: MS Coarse Glitter ~ Holly, Lavendar & Yellow Stickles ~ Buttons, twine and stickers from Michaels ~ Whispers pens ~ Coloured pencils ~ Tsukineko Black pen
  • Tools: Cuttlebug ~ Sizzlets snowflake die ~ Nesties Labels Eight

***************************************************

Challenges:

Winter Wonderland – Have a theme of  Paws for Thought, and there’s 12 on this card!

Sir Stampalot – Want to see cards based on the theme of A Winter’s Tale, although perhaps in this case that should be Tail!!!

ABC Christmas Challenge – Anything Goes

