I’ve had this focal image of Paris kicking about in my stash for quite a while and finally decided to do something with it.  It’s actually from a little desk calendar that a colleague of mine at work had on her desk in 2009, and when she was done with it I asked her for the little images!  Each week has a couple of little Parisian painted scenes on it and this large image was the main image you’d see when the little plastic holder thingy was all closed up.

Naturally you can’t have a stamped card without a bit of stamping on it, so I pulled out a plain piece of Prima paper in green and stamped all over it with a number of Tim Holtz images.  There’s a little bit of heat embossing going on there too in the top left and huge amount of different ink colours, you should have seen my desk after I’d finished this one!

I followed the sketch on the Simon Says Stamp Challenge blog for the great layout.  I do love sketches, and save loads of them to a binder that I keep on my desk, brilliant for when you need a bit of a helping hand.  The strip of paper is out of the same Prima 12 x 12 stack as the green ledger type paper and the lace is from JoAnn.    Flowers are Sandylion and Colorbok and the greeting is made from individual rub on letters, on kraft card accented with a Tim Holtz stamp and edged in DI Wild Honey.  The main stamped panel is edged in DI Vintage photo.  The Paris montage was mounted on to gold card.

I do really like this center panel image, what prompted me to finally use it was turning my room upside down this morning for some stamped and glittered hearts I’d made and put to one side (for another card) and coming across the little pack of images on the floor behind my desk!!  Rather a serendipitous find as I was wondering in what direction to go next after I’d finished the Valentines card I’d been working on!

 

Card Recipe:

  • Card: Michaels card blank ~ Gold mirri card ~ Kraft card
  • DP: Prima
  • Stamps: Tim Holtz French Market, Flights of Fancy and Urban Grunge
  • Inks: TH DI Worn Lipstick, Wild Honey, Vintage Photo ~ Memento Tangelo, Pear Tart, Rhubarb Stalk, Brilliance Copper Crimson & VersaMagic Night Sky
  • Embellies: Sandylion and Colourbok Flowers ~ Lace from JoAnn ~ Rub-On Letters ~ Brads from Archivers
  • Tools: Marvy Uchida Scalloped punch ~ Clear Embossing powder ~ Heat Gun

***********************************************************

Challenges:

Simon Says Stamp Challenge ~ Sketch

Phindy’s Place – Valentines For A Loved One

